Smartass and interactive governors on D2G

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global Development' started by jt1359, May 21, 2011.

  1. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    So has anyone tried using the smartass or interactive governors on their D2G? Through Droid Overclock or anything? I'm probably gonna try it, but I wanted to see if anyone has gotten them to work or know how they compare with battery life and performance compared to ondemand.
     
  2. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hard to say. Keep in mind droid clock is for the d2 which its cpu has one less slott then ours soit may not work properley and wont work to its full potential anyways.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  3. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is that last spot even really necessary though? I mean is there any benefit to having that 5th slot? And I think if you're not actually overclocking you don't lose the 5th slot, you should be able to change governors without losing the slot. I only use it to undervolt and make profiles personally.
     
  4. chrisl20

    chrisl20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only way to find out is to test it out man...make sure u have a way to get ur phone back to good...ik that droid overclock messed w my phone pretty bad...same w set cpu, milestone, and quickclock...all of them were problematic..but, I was trying to overclock, I didn't mess w ONLY the governors/voltage...but...I do need to try droid overclock again anyways to see if there is an experimental module w 5slot cpu...so, I might as well test the waters on the govs and voltages..
     
  5. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've used a few if those and they all worked fine for me. I just prefer Droid Overclock because I can customize my voltages in advanced. If you do try smartass or interactive, let me know how it goes. I don't think they'd mess up the phone, at least not much. I mean all they do is tell your cpu how to intact with usage, they should work on most if not all phones.
     
  6. chrisl20

    chrisl20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, the only thing/reason as to y idk they would, is because the d2g is soo different from the d2, and ppl play them off as the same..when they rnt even close.. ..i am not sure where the exact location of the voltage settings r stored in the d2 and d2g, but, just like many other things, they probably arnt in the same locale...but, its worth a shot, and im off today until 6pm, so im going to do some tinkering shortly, ill post my results when I have had the voltage set long enough to find if its a go,or a fail
     
  7. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Is that last spot necessary? Of course not, but it does improve performance I believe. To what extent I cant say. As for the governors, you may be on to something there. Using the governors only may or may not have an effect on the 5th slot. However, thinking that Droid Overclock is probably written with only the D2, and maybe D1, CPU(s) in mind even using the governors may not take it to the account the extra slot.

    My guess is you dont know what your doing. As other said, going off memorey here from last night when I was really tired, every one else had had no problems with any of the OC apps you mentioned.


    Set CPU, Quickclock and Milestone all allow you to manually change the the voltage. As for the governors, I use interactive in Set CPU and have a profile for 300Mhz max with the screen off. They should not mess with your phone. They wont mess up the phone, chris' experience is unique as others have OCed using apps named by Chris with no problems so I have no idea what he is doing exactly to mess up his phone.

    Enlighten us then, how are they SOOO different? Its the same CPU just overclocked and a slot added. Probably similar to AMD selling triple core CPUs with a 4th core that is unlockable. Think of it like a Core i7 Nahlem(sp?) cpu, there all the same cpu technically just different clock speeds assuming the amount of cores is the same. The GPU is the exact same. Both have 512 MB of RAM and to save money Moto likley used left over RAM chips from the D2 for the D2G. They both use 8GB internal storage, which again Moto likley had left over flash chips for storage from the D2 and utilized them here.

    So please enlighten us as to what is so different about the phones? You are the first person I have seen say they are soo different. If it was so different dont you think the real experts here would have already came forth and said other wise? And I dont just mean this thread, I mean this has been posted all over the forums more times then I can count. The phones been around for about 4.5 months now. Dont you think by now some one would have stepped in and said, no these are 2 very different phones with only slight similarities? Yet they havent..that should say something dont you think?

    You might find this link useful btw.
    http://developer.motorola.com/products/
    Compare the D2 and D2G.
     
    #7 Xplorer4x4, May 22, 2011
    Last edited: May 22, 2011
  8. jt1359

    jt1359 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright cool. But one question I still need answered, what do the interactive and smartass governors do differently from the ondemand one? I installed and enabled the interactive governor and I'm trying that one now.
     
  9. gunz.jones

    gunz.jones Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The d2g runs the 3630 cpu from the DX. The specs state they have a 1200 ghz cpu instead though, while it doesn't specify if it is an overclock or design difference, doesn't matter. Stepping done on a 5th step is probably done so the phone doesn't jump to 1200 if it doesn't need to. It isn't required to have the last step, but was most likely thought to help on battery and heat.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
     
  10. Xplorer4x4

    Xplorer4x4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am guessing there all roughly the same thing but some might perform better then the others.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using Tapatalk
     
  11. gunz.jones

    gunz.jones Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interqctive seems to work a little better...my only problem is it won't load the clock with angel rom.

    Sent from a D2G Dark Angel
     
  12. chrisl20

    chrisl20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    wichita, ks
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whew...at least someone has my back...damn... ..I can't explain why it (oc'ing) didn't make my phone faster, like it should...it just did...which lead me to believe that losing the extra slot wasn't good for the phone...and if the phones ARNT so different...why can't we use d2 roms, or just flash over the d2 sbf onto the d2g and say to hell w the last slot all together and only use 4 and have anice d2 THAT CAN be global if u want to go back and be a proud d2g user....I didn't mean to ruffle your feathers 4x4...but apparently I did somehow... ...thought this was a place for learning and not personal attacks...we learn from our mistakes...If I've made one...id be happy to learn how to correct it...but just saying" you don't know what your doing obviously" isn't helping anyone except you feel like an alpha male...which im ok w...u can go ahead an b a billy bad@ss for all I care... ..I just want to know why if the phones r soooooo similar like u think, then y r we so limited with a multitude of things? ...and how do you have your oc'd phone setup? What do u use and how exactly? Id like to try it...out of all the thread I have read on overclocking the d2g none of them have increased performance like they should....so I basicly threw in the towel on trying since 1.2ghz should be enough for whatever I need/want....sorry I got u so butthurt guy, didn't mean for my reply to b a personal attack, which required retaliation on your part
     
Search tags for this page
android governor compare
,
cpu governors won't stick esteem
,
governor droid 2 global
,
interactive governor worth it
,

smartass governor android

,
smartass o interactive
,
smartass vs interactive governor
,
smoothass
,
smoothass governor setting android
,
smoothass vs interactive