SmartActions for BIONIC

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by ripper2860, Apr 16, 2012.

  1. ripper2860
    Offline

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2012
  2. CurGeorge8
    Offline

    CurGeorge8 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Cool. I certainly am jealous of the fact the razr has this but the bionic does not. Nice to see this in the wild.

    Anyone try it out yet? Thoughts, comments?
     
  3. coldhardtruth
    Offline

    coldhardtruth Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Looking for a tutorial. Anyone come across one?

    Sent from my AKOP ICS Bionic
     
  4. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    Not yet. Maybe go over to the RAZR forum and see what they do.

    I know this is to help with battery life, but how does it know when to change? By GPS? If so, it'll need to keep looking to see where you are. I had Locale, back when it was free on my OG Droid and that's what it did.

    At this point I've downloaded it (thanks for the link), but not installed.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2012
  5. jhom
    Offline

    jhom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Ratings:
    +8
    There is brief tutorial in the DL link.
     
  6. mandragora
    Offline

    mandragora Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Horsham, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Up till now I have used Llama for this. I have installed smart actions but it requires WIFI to determine your location. Llama uses cell towers to determine location so I am not sure smart actions will be better. I have set up actions by time instead of location so I can turn WIFI on and off.
     
  7. aaf709
    Offline

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    So Cal
    Ratings:
    +49
    If that's the case I won't bother to install it as no place that I would want an action has WiFi.
     
  8. grgguy
    Offline

    grgguy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sounds a lot like Tasker?
     
  9. ripper2860
    Offline

    ripper2860 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I use Automate IT Pro to accomplish the same types of things. I'll give this a try just cause I'd like to see how it stacks up as a free (well, sort of) app.
     
  10. phoenixus
    Offline

    phoenixus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone notice most of the triggers don't work? Specially display and the car dock. I also can't get it to turn off or on GPS. Anyone else notice this or is it just my phone?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. striker85
    Offline

    striker85 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I can't it to actually work. None of the triggers actually do anything.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  12. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +61
    Just downloaded it, looks a little complicated, ;-) this might take a while!

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  13. Lownignitus
    Offline

    Lownignitus Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    well it seems that BT and wifi and location triggers are the only triggers working on the bionic right now.

    Think we need a dev to dig into the code and see if they can adapt it to pick up triggers from the bionic systems.
     
  14. phoenixus
    Offline

    phoenixus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are also actions that don't work such as GPS on or off

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  15. b00mb00mchuck
    Offline

    b00mb00mchuck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    If you're rooted and froze some bloat... social location is needed for location features