Smart Lock>Trusted Places Stopped Working At Home

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Note 8 Discussion' started by Miklb58, Mar 15, 2018.

  1. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Ratings:
    +242
    It seems to be the opposite. Read the small print below the map in my pic.
    The screen shot is from where you set your home location in trusted places.

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Miklb58

    Miklb58 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    217
    Trophy Points:
    183
    Ratings:
    +242
    I didn't touch a thing today, and mid morning the phone started to unlock as it should for smart lock>trusted places.
    It worked so well that it unlocked for me when I was miles away from home!
    Then as soon as I got home, it won't unlock for me...sheesh.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    3,154
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,460
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Same here. Seems to be so random when it wants to work and when it doesn't. Definitely is related to the inaccuracy of Google maps. I checked it to see where it pinpointed me in relation to my selected trusted location. Google maps had me located at my neighbors.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
  4. aggreived

    aggreived New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's not clear at all to me that this is due to Google. It could be a complex issue with many causes, but I just made the mistake of buying a Samsung phone, and I've been having this issue. My location is always spot-on, every time I check. I also see, in other forums, plenty of other people complaining about the same issue, across many different kinds of Samsung devices.

    Samsung has software that interacts closely with Android's native location and security features. It is completely feasible that their software is failing to work with the native Smart Lock functionality, and is the root of at least many of the issues we're all having with it. The bad news seems to be that this has been going on for a long time, so don't hold your breath waiting for a fix.

    But feel free to waste your time clearing cache partitions that have nothing to do with garbage code.
     
  5. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    It is never a waste of time clearing cache partitions. like anything else, it is a troubleshoot feature that gives a starting point for those of us who are actually trying to help. It is like calling your internet service provider, most of the time the first thing they tell you do is a power cycle. besides, sometimes it fixes the problem,
     
  6. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,690
    Likes Received:
    7,336
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,690
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Funny, my wife just told me the other night that her Smart Lock isn't working very well on her S7.

    Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
     
  7. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    just about anything on my phone that requires location does not work or is too buggy to be consistent. drives me up the wall with the security cameras that uses location aware.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. aggreived

    aggreived New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You defied your own statement by admitting it only sometimes helps. That means it's a waste of time all those other times someone spends time doing it and it doesn't help. The last time I went through the procedure, it was a hassle.

    And I was also "actually trying to help" by adding a little clarity that Samsung is far from off the hook on this. There's just no way this is an Android bug. This is Samsung through-and-through.
     
  9. me just sayin

    me just sayin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2017
    Messages:
    5,052
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    35.7051° N, 89.9695° W
    Ratings:
    +4,624
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 8
    just like reading your post in this thread, by your own definition, it is a waste of time if it does not help ;-P

    the reality is, it is NEVER a waste of time since you don't know if it will work until you try it. Just like posting in a thread. If you don't post there is no way to know if your solution could help. Besides clearing the cache has other benefits.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. aggreived

    aggreived New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh no, a personal insult. What am I to do? :eek:

    Keep copying/pasting advice from other forums, even if it helps no one. Don't change! ;)
     
  11. TisMyDroid

    TisMyDroid Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7,400
    Likes Received:
    3,154
    Trophy Points:
    578
    Location:
    Central New York
    Ratings:
    +3,460
    Current Phone Model:
    Samsung Note 3
    Although clearing cache solves many problems and is my first, go-to solution because it is often a quick fix in many situations, we have established that in this instance that it does not help. Whether it's Samsung or it's Google is uncertain; quite possibly a combination of both. I'm guessing we may have to wait for some update to fix the problem.

    In the meantime, we can continue to try to troubleshoot because someone might actually come up with a solution.... or we wait for a fix whichever comes first.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Sajo

    Sajo Diamond Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15,244
    Likes Received:
    12,311
    Trophy Points:
    2,463
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +12,871
    Current Phone Model:
    Moto Z4
    Just FYI...I have my new work phone (a Moto Droid Turbo 2) setup and running with Trusted Location set as my current work location. I will also set my home location tonight and see how it works. So far, I haven't noticed any issues with Trusted Location smart Lock this afternoon; but it hasn't been running long enough to really say anything for sure.

    Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 2
Search tags for this page

azs

,

best cameras

,

galaxy s9 trusted places not working

,

news

,

smart lock not working trusted places