1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Slow

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by evo8chick, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. evo8chick
    Offline

    evo8chick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone has been extremely slow latly. Can anyone help me and let me know how to speed it up. It is not rooted or anything like that.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  2. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Do you have a task killer or anti virus? How many apps do you have installed. How often do you reboot?

    tappin and a talkin
  3. evo8chick
    Offline

    evo8chick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 85 apps I have the task killer that came with the phone. And I don't really ever reboot

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    try to reboot at least every other day and when exiting applications, use the back button instead of the home button.
  5. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why would a task killer come with the phone?
  6. evo8chick
    Offline

    evo8chick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know I have the druid two global and it came with a task killer

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    wait is it atk? that was probably installed by the vzw people when you weren't looking.
  8. evo8chick
    Offline

    evo8chick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It just says task manager. I am not sure it was just on the phone when I got it.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  9. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    oh ok i think that was something included by moto on the droid 2 global and droid pro
  10. evo8chick
    Offline

    evo8chick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea prob .. I just know my phone super slow and I hate it.
    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums
  11. kickyindahead
    Offline

    kickyindahead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    yeah .. task manager is a pre installed app on the d2g .. best bet .. do as spaz says and reboot every other day or so ... and exit programs by using the back button instead of hitting the home button .. also .. moto has put so much useless crap on the phones that im surprised they even turn on .. and if you really want to get away from the slow system .. I suggest .. and this is just purely a suggestion .. root and rom your phone with a blur less rom like fission is a good starter .. but that is just a suggestion and not always the best solution to follow .. all i know is that my phone runs faster than it ever did since i changed the rom from the stock crap you get out of the box ..
  12. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    i love that
  13. kickyindahead
    Offline

    kickyindahead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Ya know its true ... :icon_eek:
  14. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    no arguments here
  15. Natey2
    Offline

    Natey2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I agree, but my stock DroidX starts up fine. Even after 200+ installed apps. All it takes is one bad/hog 3rd party app to ruin the motorblur experience.

    Sent from my unrooted DroidX using DroidForums app
  16. kickyindahead
    Offline

    kickyindahead New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    it was just a sarcastic remark .. i did run stock for a while just to see how it woudl run .. and looking through all the blur crap they put on the phone every time i looked i found another thing htey could have done without. thats all im saying .. I personally dont like the motoblur experience .. i like the true android feel of a phone .. if i want a certain app ill find it and put it on my phone . and youre right .. it does take just one 3rd party hog app to ruin the experience i dont have nearly anywhere close to 200+ apps installed on my phone .. nor do i really see the need for that many ... not in my lifestyle anyways .. but i have enough to suit my lifestyle just fine ..
  17. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont even need 9/10ths of the moto stuff...its all wasted space in my app drawer and system. I go back to stock once in a while to feel the difference, usually cant stand it for more than a day or two. Things are just noticeably more stuttery on stock...could be a placebo effect though
  18. Xplorer4x4
    Offline

    Xplorer4x4 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Evansville,IN
    I personally like Motoblur, but thats another issue. :p

    To the OP, load the task manager app, the stock one will do. Look through the list. Does anything stand out as using excessive cpu or ram?
Search tags for this page
droid 2 global runs really slow
,

droid 2 global slow

,
motorola droid 2 global slow
,
phone keeps flashing on and off
,
slow
,
slow droid