1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Slow. Not Good.

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Kendall, Dec 4, 2009.

  1. Kendall
    Offline

    Kendall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All,

    I am seriously concerned about the slowness of these Droids.

    I have already swapped out my Droid at once at Verizon. The newer one is better (which is scary), but not much.

    With my own eyes (after Lasik!) I watched two co-workers blow away my Droid (browsing the net, YouTube etc.) ... indoors, with their iPhones. It was flat out embarrassing. What to do?

    Ideas?

    Thanks.
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  2. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Funny because my two best friends have iPhones and....not even close. I can have searched for the nearest shop and already have the navigation loaded before their phones even find the nearest location. No competition.
  3. ldimick
    Offline

    ldimick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is possibly a legit question. If you are serious remove your battery and turn off/kill all apps and try it again. Some apps simply do not play well.
  4. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Assuming you're talking iphone to droid and not the ipod you said in your opening post, then yes, you would be correct. AT&Ts network, when you have a good signal to their 3G network, is hands down the fastest network out there.

    Review: Which 3G network is the best?

    The iphone is also faster at scrolling and opening applications. That's ok by me because the Droid does much more and can run un-supported apps. Each phone has their ups and downs and should be based on merits that work best for you.
  5. Kendall
    Offline

    Kendall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. I was serious.
  6. LordKastle
    Offline

    LordKastle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The AT&T network is irrelevant. As the OP stated...they were on iPods. iPod's= Wifi.
    And no where does he mention anything about an iPhone.

    I guess the OP is just cursed from Verizon. Hey my eye is itchy..what should I do?
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  7. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    That is actually legitimate. Ipods run on wifi only and wifi will almost always be faster than the 3G network. That might be your problem right there.
  8. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's what I said in my first post but for whatever reason it was deleted with Kastle's previous BS post. Ah well. Yes, wifi is faster then 3G so some clarification on what you are comparing would be good to know.
  9. LordKastle
    Offline

    LordKastle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is what I mean..if a post is going to to have loose ends everywhere then what is the point of posting. There was absolutely no clarity to the post so what else is one to assume? So be it.

    WIFI is typically faster than 3G. IPod's can only connect through WIFI. How is your Droid slow? Actually processing apps or do you mean connection/data wise?
  10. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wifi is always faster (mathematical throughput, atleast. Actual data, as with any service, may vary)
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2009
  11. Kendall
    Offline

    Kendall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lighten up ... iPhone not iPod

    OK ... my bad. I see the problem. I originally entered iPod ... when I should have written iPhone. I went back and corrected it. I am deathly sorry (Geeezzzzz).

    Anyway, I don't know a lot (so lighten up). I doubt they were on Wi-Fi. In fact, I know they were not, because at one point one of them asked me if I was getting '3G' (mentioning that they were). We both looked and my 3G light was on, but no bars on it or the Verizon signal strength indicator next to it.
  12. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like I said Kendall, AT&Ts 3G is the fastest network out there. Also the fact you had no bars was not helpful. No bars = no signal = no internet. Your droid is a very cool phone but it can't connect to the either and create a signal :)
  13. thelion
    Offline

    thelion New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Well then there is your problem. If you don't have a signal you wont be getting a good internet connection.

    Try using it where you get a strong signal and see if it works better for you. If not, head into a VZW store or call tech support for some ideas and options.
  14. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like a coverage issue not a device issue to me as well. No carrier is going to guarantee coverage indoors. You can always find a spot where one carrier will have good coverage while the other has marginal to no coverage.

    Nothing. That is, unless coverage in that one spot is critical to save you embarrassment. In which case you should have verified that your selected carrier had coverage where you needed it to begin with. I don't get why you'd be embarassed for Verizon anyway, though. Surely your mobile device and/or its carrier don't define you?
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2009
  15. Kendall
    Offline

    Kendall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I appreciate you guys starting to work with me. I don't know. I had a simple little EnV2, at the same location before I got my Droid, and that thing could get Internet access better than my Droid. Seriously.

    Shouldn't I expect to be able to use it indoors?

    Outside is fine, but whenever I enter ANY building ... pbtht ...nothin.' It's over.

    I don't get it (literally).

    Kendall
  16. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have you tried updating your PRL? *228 I believe. Updates what towers you can talk to and if you just got the device I'd suspect the default PRL is a bit out of date.
  17. Kendall
    Offline

    Kendall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Takeshi, my phone does not "define" me. Please. I was making a point; but it is a little embarrassing when you spend good money, are happy to being showing off your new toys and get blanked. We are kind of a nerdy group. We like this stuff, and like to have fun comparing. No loss of face ... just a bummer really.

    Anyway, you make some good points. I never thought about whether a carrier should "guarantee coverage indoors" or not. I would think they should; I mean, we don't live outdoors. So I sort of do expect a guarantee on coverage indoors. I think that would be normal. No?

    Getting back on track. Any ideas on how to improve reception by maybe turning off some applications or services? How about turning off some services? Do I need GTalkService ALWAYS on by default?
  18. Kendall
    Offline

    Kendall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Caindris, Thanks for the links and stuff. I do not even know what a PRL is ... but I will find out, and update it.

    I work about 15 miles from my home; do I have to update my PRL based on which location is "more important" to me?
  19. Caindris
    Offline

    Caindris New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The PRL - Preferred Roaming List - is a list that is updated to your phone on what towers your phone can contact. What you ask about different locations is honestly something I don't know. I would suspect that updating your PRL would update it for roaming across the country but I've never had any reason to test or debate this as I only travel mostly within the city I live in.
  20. Kendall
    Offline

    Kendall New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright, thanks. I'll look into it.

    Wow! ... That was rough. There are some pretty harsh people on this forum. You were a breath of fresh air.

    Take care.
Search tags for this page

motorola droid slow

,
why is my motorola droid so slow
,
why is my motorola xoom so slow