1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

slow/laggy sholes mod 2.03

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by CorkYRogers, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. CorkYRogers
    Offline

    CorkYRogers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Hey guys, I'm new so be gentle.

    I finally took the plunge last night in rooting my phone and going with the sholes mod.

    I followed the step by step instructions on these forums. I started with the 2.03 ROM...I liked it but figured I'd give the 2.05 a swirl. I didn't like that it didn't have the 3D app tray, so I went back and reflashed to 2.03. Now, I didn't play with 2.03 the first time around long enough so I dunno if this was an issue, but there are pretty long lags when switching from one app to another, switching to home screens, also, switching from portrait to landscape via opening up the keyboard. Could it be something on my end or is this an issue with the ROM? I have checked a few threads and don't really see anyone else having the same problems.

    BTW, I am overclocked to 800 as well, I'm scared to push thing more lol.

    Thank you guys for your help.
  2. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would try a fresh wipe of your device and then re-flash the ROM.
  3. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, try a clean reflash. Also, the 3DLauncher app has all sorts of bugs associated with it and definitely isnt ready for prime time -- it could possibly be the source of your problems.
  4. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1
    The 3D app tray is nothing but buggy. Try 2.0.3 without the 3D tray and you should see an improvement.

    You can always apply the Smoked Glass theme if you want a different appearance.
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, if he's going to do that why not just try 2.0.5 without a wipe and see how that works?
  6. CorkYRogers
    Offline

    CorkYRogers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Thanks guys, I'm gonna try when I get home since I'm at work and need my phone...Gonna reflash 2.03...Just one question, when I go through the reflash, what option is it exactly that will have the 3D app...the 2.1 launcher? Just want to make sure. Once again, thank you.
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    It will say 2.1 Launcher. Just make sure you don't have that box marked.
  8. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's called 2.1 Launcher, I believe.

    If you're gonna do 2.0.3 without the Launcher, then you should just do 2.0.5 -- it's had some bugs resolved and doesnt give you the option of the buggy launcher.
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Which is what I said 2 or 3 post above.:)
  10. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hook's right. Just flash 2.0.5 and you won't have to worry about selecting the 2.1 launcher or not. (2.0.5 doesn't have it)

    I would still do a fresh wipe first, then flash. Will help alleviate any problems this way.
  11. LtKen
    Offline

    LtKen New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,637
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didnt mean to steal your thunder -- it was meant to reinforce :)
  12. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Hey, no sweat.:)
  13. gatewayad
    Offline

    gatewayad New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I held off doing 2.0.3 heard about some of the issues and stayed with 2.0.2 till 2.0.5 came out, and I can tell you alot of the problems are associated with the 2.1 launcher. My phone is so fast and stable right now without the 2.1 launcher. And yes it was cool and I really... really miss the dots to change the screens a lot more than I thought I would. But 2.0.5 is in my words "very zippy" Ha!
    :icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana:
    I give 2.0.5 ... 5 out ot 5 dancing bananas
  14. CorkYRogers
    Offline

    CorkYRogers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    ok so i'm just going to go ahead and do the full wipe and isntall 2.05. Just one quick, extremely noob question...if I backed up my data to my SD card, will it still be erased? Hopefully this works, thanks again guys!
  15. MNTNBKR
    Offline

    MNTNBKR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fenton, MI
    nope...data stays on the SD card.
  16. CorkYRogers
    Offline

    CorkYRogers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Oh and the apps? Wow I feel like sucha noob