Slow internet on D2

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Tech Issues' started by tacomaguy912, Jan 6, 2011.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. tacomaguy912
    Offline

    tacomaguy912 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bought the Droid 2 brand new on black friday of this year. I am already on my second warranty replacement (refurb) due to loose screen/screen wobble issues. Ive had this one for a couple days and the internet is noticeably slower than that of my new D2 and even the 1st refurb. Did i just get the shaft or is there something i can do to boost the speed? And why is it slower?
  2. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    Any task killers installed? Are you using back or home to exit applications?

    DroidForums Junkie!!
  3. tacomaguy912
    Offline

    tacomaguy912 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have Advanced Task Killer installed. I use home to exit apps
  4. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should do the opposite of both those things. Ditch the task killer and use the back button to exit apps. This signifies to the system that you are done with it and it will handle it in its own time.

    tappin and a talkin
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    Also clean the cache and the cookies.
  6. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    +100



    DroidForums Junkie!!
  7. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also you mitt try an alternate browser. I have good experience with dolphin hd and it has options to clear cache and history on exit.

    tappin and a talkin
  8. tacomaguy912
    Offline

    tacomaguy912 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And whats all this im seeing about rooting phones and resetting abunch of stuff. Would any of this help? And how do i clean caches and cookies?
  9. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    We'll tackle rooting later. Cookies are cleared in settings when your browser is open. Cache (unless you want to buy a $1 app) is done in Settings > Applications > Manage Applications and clicking on your apps.



    DroidForums Junkie!!
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can clear your browsers cache by hitting menu and then settings and scrolling down to clear cache.

    tappin and a talkin
  11. Droid DOES!!
    Offline

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +33
    True! I was thinking the apps' cache. Carry on :)



    DroidForums Junkie!!
Search tags for this page
d2-912 painfully slow
,

droid 2 global slow internet

,

droid incredible 2 internet slow

,

droid incredible 2 slow internet

,
htc incredible 2 internet is really slow