1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Slow and Laggy Rooted Droid

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by bump47, May 16, 2010.

  1. bump47
    Offline

    bump47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Charlotte, NC
    Excuse me for my newness and not really knowing everything, but I had a quick question and hoping someone could answer it. I have had my droid for a little over a month and I rooted it about 3 weeks ago. It has been running awesome and super fast but today it has been super laggy and slow everytime I use my phone. Scrolling from each panel is very slow and most of the time an error message comes up saying "android.home process not responding" Basically the force close. I don't have any custom roms, I'm just using custom kernals and I usually run at about 800 to 1000 MHz. Any ideas on why its so laggy. Thank you in advance!
  2. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since you don't have a custom rom installed, then there is about a 99% chance that you are slowed down due to one or more apps on your phone.

    You can confirm this by downloading a taskmanager and killing all programs. If your phone runs speedy again then you can be sure that it is a program slowing you down.

    My suggestion, start deleting apps that you have installed recently until you find the culprit(s).
  3. Mbk
    Offline

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another thing to be on top of is what your Droid's CPU temp is... too high, regardless of what clock speed, will get you that behavior as well.
  4. JCo352
    Offline

    JCo352 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Have you tried a simple reboot?
  5. bump47
    Offline

    bump47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Charlotte, NC
    Is there any specific type of app that would be doing this. I uninstalled all of the apps I downloaded this week. My temperature stays at about 90 degrees F, give or take a few degrees. I have rebooted. And it will be fine for a little while, but after I let it idle and go to do stuff, it slows down. Would changing to a custom mod help?
  6. bump47
    Offline

    bump47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Charlotte, NC
    Ok, so today I decided to just go into recovery mode and restore a back up I had from like a week and a half ago. This was great for a while but then it started to slow down again. So I didnt worry about it for a while until I went to check the time and when I hit the power button to just bring up the display, it did nothing. My phone was just blank and I held it down, tried to go into recovery mode...everything. Nothing worked. I was pretty nervous and thought I had bricked my phone. I took the battery out and powered up again and it worked. That was 20 minutes ago. It's running well right now but we'll see what happens in 30 minutes...Thanks again to anyone who has given me advice
  7. jinx10000
    Offline

    jinx10000 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had this problem before. This is how I fixed it.
    Revert completely to stock. Root does not matter either way.
    Remove all apps. Install each app one at a time over a few days so you can observe if one is slowing you down. When all of your apps are installed and you don't have any slowdowns then try the OC kernels again.

    I had a problem with my phone running like molasses just yesterday and it was definitely due to an app. I'm not 100% positive but I believe it was the SetCPU widgets running that caused it. After I closed them the lag went away.
    Last edited: May 18, 2010
  8. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    A task manager is not needed on the Droid. The only app that needs to be killed is the one that is trying to kill you. CPU temp and a simple reboot should do it.
  9. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Came in to second the suggestion that SetCPU was causing your droid to be slow and laggy. Revert back to 1.5.1 or remove it entirely and see if things run better.
  10. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I installed SetCPU 1.5.1a Sunday and my phone got real laggy! Couple force closes. Nothing ran right. Downloading anything from internet took forever.

    I pulled the battery and things were better for a few minutes but the lagginess returned.

    I plugged it in and let it sit over night. Everything has been fine since then.

    I can't say for sure it was SetCPU, but that was the last thing I updated before this happened and I changed nothing else after that. And there were in fact black helicopters circling my house where I could distnictly see the SetCPU logo on the windsheild.

    Nate (the speculator in general)
  11. Se7enLC
    Offline

    Se7enLC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you positive that it was 1.5.1?

    I experienced the problem with 1.5.2, and reverted back to 1.5.1a (download from xda) and my problems went away. If you upgraded from the market, I would imagine that you would have the latest version (1.5.2a)
  12. bump47
    Offline

    bump47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Charlotte, NC
    Ok, I was using BB and I really loved it. If what most people are saying is true and that it is SetCPU that is causing this lag, I can revert back to stock image, and then I will flash BB again. I have read that with BB, you do not need SetCPU so this could solve my problem. Sorry if that doesnt make a lot of sense. Thank you all again for your help. This forum is great when people have problems!
  13. nateccnn
    Offline

    nateccnn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Of course I am not positive. LOL I just peaked...it is 1.5.3a. Sorry.

    Nate
  14. bump47
    Offline

    bump47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Charlotte, NC
    How can I revert back to stock? I have a backup from right before I rooted everything but that loads all of my apps immediately. Is there a way to get back to just the regular stock image, with root access?
  15. bump47
    Offline

    bump47 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hometown: Charlotte, NC
    Nevermind, just did a factory reset in the privacy settings and Im pretty sure that did it.
  16. Bear in NM
    Offline

    Bear in NM Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,389
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    There are a few discussions going on over at XDA involving Setcpu. The developer is certainly active over there, and has confirmed that the Setcpu widget can be a drain on the system. Much is not apples to apples with our phone (xda is Nexus), but still some insight.

    Overclocked-UV-Kernel-Battery Life Without Set-CPU - xda-developers

    I have been running the Setcpu widget and profiles on BBv1 and noticed this last weekend that things really got laggy. I thought perhaps it was Helix, as I did keep getting the Helix wait/fc prompt. Things became almost unbearably slow last night, so much so that I almost switched off Helix this morning to test (I did download the latest Helix). After reading the threads on XDA I decided to kill my setcpu widget and turn profiles off. So far, with a few hours of use, the phone appears to be back to normal. Need to test all day today to confirm.

    So, perhaps rather than trying to install an older version, just try killing your setcpu profiles, and most certainly kill the widget. Not trying to bash Setcpu, but on my phone I have done very little in the way of updating and making changes in the last two weeks or so, other than upgrading to the latest Setcpu, and other market programs that do not actively run until chosen. Starting to wonder....

    Craig
  17. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    My phone has gotten really slow and laggy today for some reason. I'm on Chevy's SS 3.1. Every half hour or so, it'll take forever to load anything. Then some com.process.acore I think it is pops up, and there's just a wait button. Anybody know what this is?? I've one error so far regarding the home process.
  18. meishkov
    Offline

    meishkov New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Actually it was android.process.acore. it's stopped doing it now. Very weird. I haven't changed anything. I heard that it has something to do with sync. Maybe the problem just corrected itself somehow I'm guessing....and hoping. It's weird cuz I didn't install anything new or change any settings or add any new contacts or duplicates. Maybe I should do a nandroid backup right now and titanium backup just incase it wants to show its evil force close face again!!!
  19. brando56894
    Offline

    brando56894 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ive always had this problem since I originally rooted my droid back in the beginning of march, Ive always partially attributed it to user error. The droid is very complex and little things can set it off.

    After x amount of days this would always happen to me when I was new to all of this and was rom hopping constantly (max I stayed on a rom was about a week). Everything would usually be fine and lightning fast for the first few hours and then depending on my current setup stuff would go to hell at random times. For example lets say I installed UD 8 and it would be fast for about 4 days and then slowly degrade and lag and FC a lot, Id switch over to CM 5.0.6.x and it would maybe last a week and then lag and crash.

    Through various experiences like this over the past month or so this is my method for dealing with this when im switching to a new rom: wipe data 2 or more times, wipe cache, install new rom, restore /data. if that doesnt work/ doesnt fix the lag then I usually flash the 2.0.1 SBF, wipe /data at least once ,re-root and install the rom I want.

    It may seem like a PITA but IMO it definitely helps. Recently when ADB Launcher was released I tried it on BBv1 and it worked fine for about an hour until I rebooted and EVERYTHING immediately crashed, so I removed it. My droid started lagging a few days after that so on monday I wiped /data a few times, wiped /system (and found out that left it unbootable) and flashed the 2.0.1 SBF. Im currently running the same setup and have been using ADB for a few days now without a problem! Ive also read about the SetCPU problems and decided to do without it for a few days since BBv1 can manage your cpu for you and all is well!

    I've always found that recent versions of Helix 1 have eaten a lot of my cpu time too.
  20. DirtySouth
    Offline

    DirtySouth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having a very similar issue. All day long my Droid has been extremely sluggish especially when navigating between screens, browsing & scrolling through the app menu. I rooted my 2.1 Droid last night without using any custom ROM or Kernel. After reading this thread, I got to thinking about SetCPU. This morning I had added the SetCPU widget. I just removed it and I can already tell a dramatic performance difference. I'll continue to monitor and see if it stays that way. BTW, I'm also running 1.5.3a.
Search tags for this page
android is slow after rooting
,

android running slow after root

,

android slow after root

,

android slow after rooting

,
android slower after root
,
fix my slow rooted droid x
,
my rooted phone is slow
,
root android slow
,

rooted android running slow

,
rooted android runs slow
,

rooted android slow

,
rooted android still slow
,
rooted but running slow
,
rooted phone is slow
,
rooted phone slow solution