Slingbox

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by ConectUS, Aug 7, 2010.

  1. ConectUS
    Offline

    ConectUS New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    I have a Slingbox HD on Dish Network. I see in my Market that there is a $29.99 Slinbox App. Has anyone used this app? Any comments?

    Thanks

    Dennis
  2. coolkidd
    Offline

    coolkidd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using this app.... very helpful for me when I am at work... I get to watch my sports every now and then...
  3. BMWBig6
    Offline

    BMWBig6 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow that is expensive. I have a Slingbox Pro and already coughed up for the WinMo version on my previous phone. Not sure I want to cough up another $30 for Android version too.
  4. gatecitycanes
    Offline

    gatecitycanes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    I love it. It's the best app I have.
  5. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    I've been considering this one. So it streams good, I assume?
  6. gatecitycanes
    Offline

    gatecitycanes New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    It's a bit of a battery drain and it takes a few seconds of buffering to get going, but once it's going it's smooth. Just as smooth as it is on my PC.
  7. jkhonea
    Offline

    jkhonea DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,016
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Snellville, GA
    I have been watching that one close. I may end up picking that one up. Would be nice to have for travelling with my son. Have to look really closely at this. Not cheap to set up with equipment purchase, but it is nice to see that there doesn't appear to be a monthly fee.
  8. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,448
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    I have the solo and works great. Pic quality is excellent and buffering really is only less then a second...

    Kinda made me wonder why dish network even needs an app, I mean, if you have dishnetwork, what more is there app gonna do for you then slingboxes?
  9. ConectUS
    Offline

    ConectUS New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    California
    Thanks for the feedback. I am not sure I really NEED it but it sounds cool. I imagine it is a battery killer. I was thinking of using it for long car trips to stay on top of the news.
  10. souljerr
    Offline

    souljerr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento Valley, CA
    I've used Slinbox on past phones and it was great. Really wish there was another option so the price on this would drop. Seems way to expensive to me.
  11. dan j
    Offline

    dan j New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm in the same boat. I need to see if Sling will let me sell my license since they won't let me transfer it. Doubtful, but ...
  12. coolkidd
    Offline

    coolkidd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    True.... I have WinMo, Apple, and Android Licenses....:icon_evil:

    The WinMo cost me $19.99 3 years ago... I bought the Apple (for iPod Touch) license last year for $29.99... Then when an Android App came, I had to buy another license for it, as well......:icon_evil:
  13. kevsgroove
    Offline

    kevsgroove Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Picked up a Pro HD little over a week ago and just hooked it up due to being out of town. Main question is using an HDMI cable how to hook up Slingbox to be able to watch one thing on TV and another on the Droid via Slingbox? Any thoughts..........

    I have AT&T U-Verse btw.
  14. doctordoctor
    Offline

    doctordoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    My slingplayer now doesn't work since updating to froyo frg22??? WTF I paid 30 bucks for that app it better work still! any help or directions on how to get it fixed?
  15. drowe
    Offline

    drowe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Mine works fine on FRG01B and on Bugless Beast 0.4. Maybe a re-install?
  16. dan j
    Offline

    dan j New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I understand you correctly, you want to watch sports on your Droid while your spouse watches the news on the home TV. And, you only have one DVR/cable box? If so, you can't unless your CB has two outputs. You could split the coax cable and send a non-CB signal to either the TV or SB and watch live TV (if possible since your cable might require a CB).

    Hope that helps.
  17. DroidDoes13
    Offline

    DroidDoes13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was having the same problem. I switched to a Cyanogenmod Nightly and it is working wonderfully now.


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  18. Shadez
    Offline

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,448
    Likes Received:
    199
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Some of the problems lately have been slings fault. They have had major outages in the last week and 1/2.
  19. doctordoctor
    Offline

    doctordoctor New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    erie, Pa sniffle sniffle
    still no slingbox!!! Even went to verizon store and looked up app on new droid 2....still no show!
  20. hammerhead13
    Online

    hammerhead13 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    I have the Slingbox Classic. I got it back when it came out. This was the reason I bought my first Smartphone. The App was $30 back then. Doubt it will go down. The Android app is only supposed to work with the Newer Slings but it does work with my classic. I work for a retail store and got a license for the WinMo app from a employee from Slingmedia. I won't pay $30 for any app.

    PM Me if you are looking to try the Slingplayer app.
Search tags for this page

android phone app for slingbox remote not changing candles

,
best droid bionic dish anywhere app
,

slingbox forum

,
slingbox won't work on galaxy s4
,
slingplayer droid bionic remote
,
slingplayer galaxy s4 hdmi