Skype

Discussion in 'HTC ThunderBolt' started by runway500, May 24, 2011.

  1. runway500

    runway500 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville,NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the Skype with video apk legit or a big security risk ...thanks Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  2. bigjonmoo73

    bigjonmoo73 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yeah... I would like to have Skype Video on my T-Bolt. Any advice?
     
  3. sidsixseven

    sidsixseven Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Works great. The security concern is related to a flaw that was fixed on the market version. More of a public relations faux pax then a legitimate concern IMO.

    Basically your Skype contacts are visible to other apps. Privacy concern? Sure. But not much more than what you freely give up when using Facebook.

    In terms of a malicious exploit, about the worst someone could do is send messages to your Skype contacts. And even then you would have to download a Trojan first. And lets be honest, if you do that.. you got bigger problems.

    Sent via Tapatalk on my HTC Thunderbolt
     
  4. runway500

    runway500 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville,NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks man..so is the apk from Droid life good

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  5. runway500

    runway500 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville,NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    the apk i used wont let me use the video
     
  6. jseah

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    If it is the apk from the link at Droid Life, it works. I have it installed on mine and video works.
     
  7. runway500

    runway500 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville,NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    does it have to be rooted bc it wont even turn video on but it wil let me connect
     
  8. runway500

    runway500 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville,NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    It. Just won't let the video work but Idk
     
    #8 runway500, May 26, 2011
    Last edited: May 26, 2011
  9. jseah

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    No, doesn't have to be rooted. When you have someone entered as a Skype contact (they need to have Skype as well), and you click on their name in the application, the buttons at the bottom gives you three options (from left to right)....video call (button will say "video" and have an icon of a video camera), voice call (button will say "call" and have an icon of a phone handset), and instant message (button will say "IM" and have an icon of a IM conversation bubble.

    Video calling will only work with other Skype users that you have set up in your contacts. If you just click on the "Call" tab (and the phone dialer screen appears) you only have the option to do a Skype voice call.
     
  10. runway500

    runway500 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Greenville,NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know but everything works except video

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  11. jseah

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Sorry, then I can't help you. It works fine on mine when I use it. Are you using it while in a 3G area, or 4G? The video is horrendously choppy when in 3G.
     
  12. dsciara

    dsciara New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Panama city Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have awesome video in 3g area!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

skype videoapk