Skype

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by alex5674, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. alex5674
    Offline

    alex5674 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am getting an error that says "couldn't connect" on skype.....does this mean even though the app is out there that I still can't skype on my droid
     
  2. DrkPh03n1x
    Offline

    DrkPh03n1x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im getting this error as well. Its strange. I have another druid 2 here that is able to connect without problem. Password is correct. Just says "Couldn't connect to skype."

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  3. thordahl
    Offline

    thordahl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any luck on resolving this? Same issue here. Skype works on my wife's DG2 but not on mine. I have been searching for a way to solve this problem with not luck?
     
  4. alex5674
    Offline

    alex5674 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I uninstalled skype, turned my off and on, and installed skype for droid through market app and it cleared it all up. So far so good. I hope it works for you.
     
  5. thordahl
    Offline

    thordahl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do you uninstall it? It looks to be blocked.
     
  6. Droid2G-0369
    Offline

    Droid2G-0369 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will have to be rooted in order to delete apps that came on your phone.
     
  7. thordahl
    Offline

    thordahl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had updated the program yesterday. I delete the update and did a battery pull. Now it works. Thanks for the idea!

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  8. jdm917
    Offline

    jdm917 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody know how to uninstall the Skype app from android os? I don't use it at all so I want to get rid of it and when I try to kill it with task manager it just restarts. Any help would be appreciated.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. ss13
    Offline

    ss13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Menu - Settings - Applications - Manage Applications. Select it...Remove. Just guessing that would work, since that's how I uninstall everything.
     
  10. sonicfreak360
    Offline

    sonicfreak360 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If it came with your phone, it is impossible. Remove it with root access.


    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  11. AthDruid
    Offline

    AthDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the phone need to be rooted to install the skype app with video, as posted in Droid Life forums?
     
  12. Beardface
    Offline

    Beardface Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +37
    No... I have it and am not rooted.... talked for an hour on video earlier today, so i can verify it works
     
  13. AthDruid
    Offline

    AthDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok. Thanks. IT just took my wife a while to get it downloaded correctly. I think a reboot was needed for her. so we'll see....
     
  14. naknak95
    Offline

    naknak95 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0

    With your phone, click this link com.skypevideo.apk and download the apk. When it's done, run the installer and it should work. It works great for me, I've been using it since the first day the TB came out.
     
  15. maneetb
    Offline

    maneetb New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone tried using Skype? I can't get video working...
     
Similar Threads
  1. ej88
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,083
  2. NickWBurns
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    2,515
  3. lkmtkamom
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,763
  4. sik916
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    2,364
  5. skibird
    Replies:
    Views:
    N/A
Loading...
Search tags for this page
cannot connect skype android
,
cannot connect to skype in s4
,
cant connect to skype on droid 3
,
couldn't connect to skype blackberry
,

droid bionic cannot connect to skype

,
motorola droid 2 global skype can't connect
,
skype cant connect on my android phone
,
skype couldnt connect droid
,
skype for verizon couldn't connect
,
skype unable to connect android