1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Skinning Widget - Making Transparent Border Question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by phaze3131, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys I am really getting into skinning widgets. I am using Fireworks CS3 to create my png files.

    I just have a question how I can make a border around my images that are transparent as most of the png's I pull from various widgets seem to have. Thanks much!
  2. stanrc
    Offline

    stanrc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That only applies to 9.PNG files. If you have the android developer kit installed there is a tool to help make them called draw9patch. There are a few guides out there but they are kind of tricky.
  3. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah yes I remember reading this:
    Draw 9-patch | Android Developers

    How can I use this tool if I'm on a Windows system? Thanks!
  4. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Download the android sdk , the draw9 patch tool is a part of it.
    Navigate to the tools folder in it and run the draw9patch.exe
  5. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there is no file draw9patch.exe only draw9patch.bat
  6. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does this file exist or did he make a mistake?
  7. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    it's the bat file sorry
    from within the tools directory just type draw9patch and it will run.
    should look similiar to this
    c:\windows\sdk\tools>draw9patch
    press enter and it'll open up and just drag and drop your png onto the new window.
  8. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    So inside of CMD type that?

    and thanks btw :)
  9. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    ya type that in your command terminal.
    make sure you've navigated to the sdk tools folder then just type draw9patch and press enter.

    Welcome :)
  10. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says 'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.


    any ideas?

    I have it installed in c:\android\tools and that is where i type the draw9patch.bat and also without the bat but the same thing happens. I am on Windows 7.


    Edit: I installed the Java Platform JDK and it works now thanks much!
Search tags for this page

draw9patch download

,
how to make htc widgets transparent
,
widget border android