Skinning Widget - Making Transparent Border Question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by phaze3131, Feb 18, 2010.

  1. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys I am really getting into skinning widgets. I am using Fireworks CS3 to create my png files.

    I just have a question how I can make a border around my images that are transparent as most of the png's I pull from various widgets seem to have. Thanks much!
  2. stanrc
    Offline

    stanrc New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That only applies to 9.PNG files. If you have the android developer kit installed there is a tool to help make them called draw9patch. There are a few guides out there but they are kind of tricky.
  3. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah yes I remember reading this:
    Draw 9-patch | Android Developers

    How can I use this tool if I'm on a Windows system? Thanks!
  4. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Download the android sdk , the draw9 patch tool is a part of it.
    Navigate to the tools folder in it and run the draw9patch.exe
  5. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there is no file draw9patch.exe only draw9patch.bat
  6. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    does this file exist or did he make a mistake?
  7. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    it's the bat file sorry
    from within the tools directory just type draw9patch and it will run.
    should look similiar to this
    c:\windows\sdk\tools>draw9patch
    press enter and it'll open up and just drag and drop your png onto the new window.
  8. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    So inside of CMD type that?

    and thanks btw :)
  9. Topsy
    Offline

    Topsy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    ya type that in your command terminal.
    make sure you've navigated to the sdk tools folder then just type draw9patch and press enter.

    Welcome :)
  10. phaze3131
    Offline

    phaze3131 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It says 'java' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.


    any ideas?

    I have it installed in c:\android\tools and that is where i type the draw9patch.bat and also without the bat but the same thing happens. I am on Windows 7.


    Edit: I installed the Java Platform JDK and it works now thanks much!
Search tags for this page

draw9patch download

,
how to make htc widgets transparent
,
widget border android