Skinned AudioManager Widget

Discussion in 'Android Custom & Themes' started by Benny879, Feb 27, 2010.

  1. aupeters

    aupeters New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I opened background.png (or whatever it's name is) in GIMP (freeware photoshop) and went over it with the eraser tool, resaved it and then followed the steps listed earlier to put it into the .apk

    EDIT

    Forgot, I was more referring to a couple others I did, but same principle: I duplicated the background.png, pasted it as a new layer, erased that layer, then retyped the font characters in the blank layer (leaving only the words you see under the bars). Then I deleted the original layer and saved the font layer as the background.png etc.
     
  2. 1quickv6

    1quickv6 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't figure out to do a simple copy and paste in this case. Well, I figured out the "copy" by doing a long key press, I even clicked on "move" but I cannot place it into the system/app folder. :(

    Using Astro, BTW.....
     
  3. aupeters

    aupeters New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's a list I put together for my own memory:

    How to modify installed apps graphics (audio manager widget)? SOLVED!

    You need something like root explorer to copy files into system/app (it's read-only unless you use root explorer or the abd/terminal commands listed above)
     
  4. 1quickv6

    1quickv6 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. I'll give that a shot.

    Never considered the "read-only" properties of the file.

    Worked perfectly. Now to skin the Pandora Widget.........
     
  5. lockman

    lockman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, I have a bit of a problem. Since my last wipe, Terminal Emulator is acting up. It's saying file or directory not found. I attached a couple screens.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. aupeters

    aupeters New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your files are in /sdcard/system/app (on the external sdcard); they need to be on the internal drive (/system/app) - it's a completely different directory. Astro won't show you the internal drives, that's why root explorer is so helpful. Still, you can probably follow the directions in the earlier posts (using abd commands) and still get it to work without root explorer, but life's a lot easier with it.
     
  7. lockman

    lockman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's why I posted the pics. I'm tired, drove 400 miles today. I knew I was missing something stupid. Thanks.
     
  8. Jim 777

    Jim 777 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Ratings:
    +38
    After trying to do this like 30 times and never having any results I do want to ask one thing. Does the line in the TE of "chmod 644 /system/app/com.smartandroidapps.audiowidget.apk" merely just setting permissions? Could just be done in Root Access and then just "sync" and "reboot in TE?
     
  9. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes Chmod is the permissions

    you need to chmod 644 then sync then reboot

    in the post your screen shot thread I was the one who first skinned this blue and have directions and how the permissions should be I'll try and find the link and edit my post


    -=Jason=-
     
  10. Mars

    Mars Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i renamed it to .apk and tried to copy/past it to system/apps using the rootexplorer it said that i cannot paste it whats is wrong with it?
     
  11. CoyG

    CoyG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    benny, the red theme is awesome. if wore socks you'd rock them.
     
  12. Flomaster

    Flomaster Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    East Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    you need to click the Mount R/W button at the top

    -=Jason=-

    Great thread, but give credit where credit is Due: *cough this post here http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...ots-peoples-droid-desktops-56.html#post242478 Cough*
    and here is the background taken from the Youtube AdamZ smoked Glass theme.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

Search tags for this page

how to hack audio manager android

,

how to hack the audio manager for android

,

ics audio manager skin.apk