SK Telecom in Korea Getting the Best Samsung Galaxy S III; Quad-core Exynos & 2GB RAM

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,370
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    [​IMG]

    As you folks probably already know, there are a couple different versions of the Samsung Galaxy S III. Their is the International version that comes with the Quad-Core Exynos processor from Samsung and 1GB of RAM, and there is the one for the United States. In order to keep compatibility with LTE radios, this one sports the dual-core Snapdragon S4 from Qualcomm, but goes up to 2GB of RAM to make up for the difference in processor. Apparently, the birthplace of the Galaxy S III will get the best of both worlds. This new leaked pic from PhoneArena seems to indicate that SK Telecom in Korea will be getting a 32GB Samsung Galaxy S III variant that has both the Quad-core Exynos processor from Samsung and 2GB of RAM! It used to be that Japan got the best tech gadgets. Lately it seems like Korea is starting to trump them.

    Source: S3Forums via PhoneArena
  2. bluefire7002
    Offline

    bluefire7002 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Those are some Beefy Specs!:p
  3. Eric18
    Offline

    Eric18 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    WTFrik............ :happy3: I guess I'm going to have to wait till next year to get a phone I want. I really want one from Samsung that has the Quad core, High Resolution AMOLED screen display, Hopefully their YOUM Tech (Their Flexible Screens), 4GB Ram, 12MP camera, and All day Battery............. but who knows:blink: and maybe even NVIDIA graphics??????
  4. pwrdbykyank
    Offline

    pwrdbykyank Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i see its listed under LTE, so my question being, would one be able to buy the korea one and use it here in the states for 4g lte on verizon?
  5. crwys
    Offline

    crwys New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the picture it shows that the Quad Core 2GB ram device uses HSPA+, in other words GSM.
    Verizon uses CDMA so there is no way this phone would work on Verizon or any other CDMA carriers.
  6. Hugh Jass
    Offline

    Hugh Jass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    48
    What the hell are you going to do with 4GB of RAM, dual boot windows 7?
  7. kparks
    Offline

    kparks Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    LOL my thoughts exactly.. I'm waiting for tablets to get 2gb of ram how can a phone have more ram than a tab there working the wrong way lol
  8. cloudman7
    Offline

    cloudman7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One of the reasons is that USA is getting LTE and a duel and not a quad is that ours is LTE and that means it will suck battery so if they but a quad that would use more battery life,most of over sea don't get LTE so they put a quad instead which the LTE version once is over clocked will be just as fast as.
  9. Immolate
    Offline

    Immolate New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central Florida
    The good news is that you too can have this phone. You just need to move to South Korea.
  10. combatmedic870
    Offline

    combatmedic870 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,322
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Portland OR
    Exactly. Plus ram eats more battery then anything

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
  11. FoxKat
    Online

    FoxKat DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    9,073
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Wait, isn't the US Verizon CDMA now going to also be GSM compatible (future update makes it Global)? If so, then what's stopping them from making a GSM phone CDMA compatible in the future as well?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Xparent ICS Tapatalk 2 with Google voice to text translation. Please excuse any minor spelling, punctuation, capitalization or grammatical errors.
  12. pwrdbykyank
    Offline

    pwrdbykyank Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No, look above where it says HSPA+ it says (LTE) i also read the specs on it and it says HSPA+ as primary network and 4G LTE as secondary networks. So im thinking it would work.. again im not positive but thats what i read.
Search tags for this page
contact galaxy.sk loc:us
,
galaxy s3 sk telecom
,
gsm galaxy s3 sk telecom
,
korean samsung s3 4gb memory
,

samsung galaxy s3 sk telecom

,

samsung s3 sk telecom

,
sk telecom galaxy s3
,
sk telecom galaxy s3 is cdma or gsm
,

sk telecom s3

,

sk telecom samsung galaxy s3

,
south korea sk telecom samsung s3 32gb 2gb ram
,
verizon galaxy s3 on sk telecom