1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Site issues

Discussion in 'Off Topic Forum' started by ilikemoneygreen, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Anyone else getting a white screen with every word and random spacing? id post a portscreen but i cannot see the insert button cuz nothing from the site loads. its like this on my Nexus as well so im thinking the site is experiencing difficulty?
  2. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    View attachment 45340 from nexus... like this on PC as well...

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  3. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Yup, thanks for this post, I thought it was just me and I was going crazy trying to get the site to work right haha

    Supercharged tweaked Miui.us
    Primes deprimed kernel @ 1.2GHz w/ customized kickasskernel tweaks and 3g turbocharger
    19.9 linpack score
    1921 quadrant score
    Zoom zoom ;)
  4. Shadez
    Online

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    May have just been a server burp.. happens sometimes.
  5. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    For over an hour or 2? Does this site use different servers for different areas? If so maybe just one of them is malfunctioning or something

    Supercharged tweaked Miui.us
    Primes deprimed kernel @ 1.2GHz w/ customized kickasskernel tweaks and 3g turbocharger
    19.9 linpack score
    1921 quadrant score
    Zoom zoom ;)
  6. Shadez
    Online

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    It could have been a number of things. The Administrators could have been working on the site or something else. If it's working now for you all is good. If it happens again, please let us know.
  7. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Well I'm letting u know again. Lol. It was looking good for 10 min but we are back to all white again. It is a good time for sever issues though. Least its not in the day.
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  8. Shadez
    Online

    Shadez Super Mod/News Team Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    8,327
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Lafayette Hill, Pa
    Ok yesterday the site WAS being worked on, this new info has been forwarded to the right people. Thanks!
  9. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Thanks Shadez. You get a cyber hug. Better then a smileyface. :)

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  10. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I'm right here with ya money. It hit me mid-day yesterday and I thought it had to do with the proxy at my work or the fact we are forced to use browser version that are at least a full version iteration behind what is current. I realized after I got home last night that I wasn't the only one seeing it (although, it wasn't happening on my machine at home??) and it is still like it for me this morning back at work.
  11. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Im actually getting kinda used to navigating it. reminds me of like 1999 when the net was still noob. lol, droidforums should have a day where they purposefully go back to this. i guess that day is today :)
  12. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Yay! I'm back to normal... for now!!! hahaha I was getting used to it, too. Best part was how all the pages loaded almost instantly.

    Don't know if you ever read XKCD, but one of my fav. comics they ever did was April Fools Day last year when they turned their entire site into a unix based site and filled with with hidden fun commands: guest@xkcd
  13. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    I'm still white on PC through 3 diff browsers and even cleared data in chrome with a reload right after. It is on with my phone though...weird.
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  14. Trusstopher
    Offline

    Trusstopher Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I think it may have to do with when specific servers refresh the data or maybe even when your DNS re-ups it's data. Could still be forwarding the wrong version site to you?
  15. ilikemoneygreen
    Offline

    ilikemoneygreen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,579
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, Superstition MTNs!
    Idk. I reset everything even the modem. Still retro. I shouldn't be playing right now anyway. Issue will go away eventually I guess. Troubleshooting comes later. :( now I can not be as distracted. :) tether it works btw. So I think your right.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  16. MdicnMan
    Offline

    MdicnMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    I'm having the same issue on 3 different machines on 2 different networks as well as from my phone.

    It maybe a coincidence but it seems just started when the google currents feed started.

    Right now tapatalk is the only way that I can access the forum.




    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  17. MdicnMan
    Offline

    MdicnMan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    Try switching your DNS to different DNS. Oddly switching to Google DNS fixed it for me. 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.
  18. JohnDroid
    Offline

    JohnDroid Guest

    For those of you having issues as MdicnMan said you could switch your DNS and that should fix it for you. However, I've just incremented the serial number on the domain so it should fix itself without you making any changes at all. Please let me know if you are still having problems.
  19. metalspring
    Offline

    metalspring New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    2,228
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hermitage, pa
    Its working just fine now, thanks, now I can go back and edit my threads that got a little jumbled from the site errors...yay lol

    Supercharged tweaked Miui.us
    Primes deprimed kernel @ 1.2GHz w/ customized kickasskernel tweaks and 3g turbocharger
    19.9 linpack score
    1921 quadrant score
    Zoom zoom ;)
  20. JohnDroid
    Offline

    JohnDroid Guest

    Essentially, there are probably quite a few DNS servers out there that cached the bad data. That data needs to expire but unfortunately there's nothing I can do to force it to do so. And, I'm not sure what TTL GoDaddy put on it so I can't even tell you how long it will be. I would say 24 hours or less, worst case scenario.

    Edit: A reboot sometimes helps as it can be your system that is also caching the old/bad values.