Sirius/XM app issue..?

Discussion in 'Team D1-MIUI' started by MarkItZero, Dec 27, 2010.

  1. MarkItZero

    MarkItZero New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Currently on MIUI 12.24, Droid 1.

    Just installed the Sirius app, it wont stream, it just gives the little loading animation whenever I click a channel then tells me there is no data connection.

    Any help?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  2. Booch_21

    Booch_21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Running version 1.1.0 and its playing fine on Wi-Fi. Doesn't seem to want to connect on 3G. Getting a network error.
     
  3. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    This seems to be a Sirius XM problem and not a ROM problem, people are reporting it not working over 3G on Evo after firmware upgrade.

    Sirius/XM not working!? - Android Forums

    Surprised you guys didn't search for this info.
     
  4. Booch_21

    Booch_21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I simply reported my results for the benefit of the OP.
     
  5. brute48

    brute48 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been having this issue since the 12.3 version..... it will only work over WIFI. Looks like it is an app issue.
     
  6. Booch_21

    Booch_21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went and read that thread. I'm not a member there, plus I haven't used my Sirius app regularly since the 21st. It worked that day, because I play it at work. Those guys were reporting issues on the 17th.

    The speculation from that thread is that several apps using 3G may or may not be working right "since the update". Sirius has not issued an app update in quite some time, so that *could* leave the most recent ROM changes as a potential problem. Over my break, I installed MIUI 12.11 first, then 12.24. When I launch the Sirius app under 3G, it does log me in but fails to connect to the last channel, any channel, correctly.

    I just did another test. I started the app on Wi-Fi and got it playing "70's on 7". I then switched it to 3G. It played for about 60 seconds on 3G, then the phone went completely dead. Couldn't turn it on from the switch. Pulled the battery and restarted it. After boot, I started the app under 3G. Nothing. Minimized it and turned on Wi-Fi. Not connecting. Shut down the app and restarted it with Wi-Fi and it took off fine. I then repeated shutting down Wi-Fi and let it go to 3G. It has been playing for several minutes and has started a new song. I'm going to leave it on for a bit and see what happens.

    Just hoping that what I report may help in diagnosing the problem to someone.
     
  7. Booch_21

    Booch_21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    The app played until 1:10 pm my time, when I had woke the phone up. Strange since I had been waking it up a number of times during playback and launching other apps while the Sirius app was minimized. I started it again under Wi-Fi and switched to 3G again. Still going strong.

    This is the same app version that I have been running for some time almost daily while at work, for several hours at a time.
     
  8. brute48

    brute48 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the update!! I will try this out.
     
  9. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Re-read the thread, the update they are referring to is a stock OTA firmware update. Meaning the app broke after a carrier's/manufacturer's update, which shouldn't happen to an app, ever; especially not one you pay a subscription for.
     
  10. Booch_21

    Booch_21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Look, I don't care, really. It's not like I am going to fix the problem. All I am doing is passing along information and observations based on what I see, period, to others who share similar issues, period.

    You just said that an app should never break, ever, after a firmware update. Apparently it did since the Sirius/XM app is not the only one affected. From the thread that you linked to:

    I'm not trying to pick a fight, but geez Louise, I'll stop posting my observations if that makes this thread more productive. But, it sure looks to my untrained eye like there is something else going on here beyond this single app.
     
  11. moto37

    moto37 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ver 1.1 works fine with sourcery 1.0

    Sirius xm app ver 1.1 works great with sourcery rom, 3g and wifi. Wasn't able to get it to work with CM 6.1.2.
     
  12. Booch_21

    Booch_21 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ashtabula, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sirius/XM app is working this morning!

    No clue why it all of a sudden started working over 3G, but it is. I downloaded a couple of apps this morning, one being TuneIn radio. I wanted to try it and see if it played, which it did. Then I tried Sirius/XM and it is playing. I'm not aware of any updates to anything overnight, and the app has not been updated. I'd love to reboot the phone and see if its a quirk, but I'm not sure that I want to roll the dice!

    Anyone else?
     
  13. brute48

    brute48 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    Ratings:
    +0
    No luck for me...... It will work on WIFI. I can then turn off WIFI and then it will work on 3G until I exit the app. It will not start again until I turn on WIFI.:icon_evil:
     
  14. hixie5

    hixie5 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unfortunately this work around won't work for me since I am attempting to use at work with no open WiFi to connect to. A few other streaming apps I use do the same thing, DI.fm being one of them.
     
  15. sayitaintso

    sayitaintso New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    this fix worked for me

    Found this "fix" and it seems to work....

    dial ##3282#
    (enter msl unlock code--Sprint rep will provide...)
    edit mode
    advanced
    change HTTP proxy port to 0
    change HTTP proxy address to 0.0.0.0

    Worked for me.
    Not certain if this helps fix all connection issues or if this is the best work around
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 sleep kills sirus
,

sirius android app not working

,
sirius app and network error message android
,
sirius app not connecting
,
sirius app wont connect
,
sirius stops playing when s4 minimized
,
sirius xm doesn't work on 3g/4g after update android
,
sirius xm not working with wifi
,
xmsirius sprint app problems