Since it's been a couple weeks now, how are your 800mhz Droids holding up?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by jrl9851, Feb 2, 2010.

  1. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really want to do this, but I also can't afford to buy a brand new phone if the cpu melts which is why I'm a little hesitant. For those doing this, any complaints?
     
  2. gentlefury

    gentlefury Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Been running great for me, no problems no complaints.

    I have mine set to drop to stock 550 if the battery is below 30% and that happened last night and MAN could I feel it!
     
  3. Elysian

    Elysian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dunno, I don't have an 800mhz Droid, I've got a 900mhz Droid.
     
  4. SoCalMiles

    SoCalMiles Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here...was skeptical myself....but after a week with no problems I bumped it up to 950 so yeah things are good
     
  5. Elysian

    Elysian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was at 1ghz for a day, but too many Force Closes of the browser I brought it down to 900. Still get Force Closes, much less frequently though. I'm gonna do some surgery and see if there isn't something I can do to enhance the cooling.
     
  6. tony1208

    tony1208 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my google maps no worky grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
     
  7. busab

    busab Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Greer, SC
    Ratings:
    +8
    I've been at 800mhz for a few days now with no problem. I did have it set to 900 MHz with no problems but I couldn't really tell the difference between 800 and 900 so I'm just going to keep it at 800 to save some battery.
     
  8. wil318466

    wil318466 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I'm at 800 for a few days, and its perfect.

    The Droid should have really been shipped at this speed. Dunno what they were thinking. I guess they had valid reason, I guess. Who knows. Maybe the Droid/Android developers should all come to these forums and learn how to really interface their OS with their hardware. Think about if all these options were available in the stock OS? Color schemes/themes, higher clock speeds..uhh..wifi tethering. (lol)

    Take the plunge. You won't regret it. And forget Bugless Beast, go with the smoked glass blue rom.

    As soon as *ONE* post comes up about someone frying their Droid at 800mhz, trust me there will be a mad rush of the 2.01 stock download.


    -Wil
     
  9. tony1208

    tony1208 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does Google maps work for you guys ?
     
  10. Elysian

    Elysian Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, everything works as it should.
     
  11. deputc26

    deputc26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    800 and 950 are perfect, 1.1ghz not so much.
     
  12. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you guys using bugless beast? If you wouldn't mind, please post the guide you used to do this.
     
  13. jrl9851

    jrl9851 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The reason all this is getting confusing and I haven't done it yet is because I hear bugless beast, sholes, etc. and I have no idea if these work together or if you choose one.
     
  14. dman91

    dman91 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's a quick and easy guide for Bugless Beast.
    Easy Step by Step guide to installing: Bugless Beast - BlackBerry Forums at CrackBerry.com

    I just bought my Droid on 1/24/10, rooted it yesterday and overclocked it today using that guide. My Droid is smoother/faster now (was smooth with stock anyway). The main reason I rooted/overclocked was because of the browser lag in stock 2.0.1. I couldn't put up with it so i decided to take the plunge and so far it's as "smooth as butter".:)
     
  15. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,960
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    I used this one to get rooted and to get all the software needed:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/dr...step-step-no-adb-involved-noob-challenge.html

    I then used this one to load Bugless Beast: AllDroid - View topic - [ROM] Bugless Beast [950MHz & Wifi] V0.7.3 (2/2/10) I used the Update.zip Installation instructions that are about 1/3 of the way down the page.
     
Search tags for this page

its been a couple weeks now quotes