1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Simultaneous Voice/Data Argument

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Mars, Jan 17, 2010.

  1. Mars
    Offline

    Mars New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I was at my buddy's house tonight and he has At&t, and he was talking about how they are unveiling some new feature for video/voice chat for the next Iphone blah blah blah...then he goes on the mention again that the Verizon would never be able to have that feature! Its always a never-ending debate between me and him and which network or phone is better its gets redundant. Now I understand of course that Verizon's Network is not capable of voice/data unless youre on Wifi.

    Will the technology ever develop to where we will be able to do this?? I love the Droid and Verizons network but its gets tiring when these Apple fanboys constantly bring up this argument every damn time! And there isnt really much to say about that, simply because its based on FACT.

    What are your thoughts??
  2. superglen99
    Offline

    superglen99 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,WA
    Tell him when 4g comes out that argument will be mute. Apples 4g will suck and verizons will be awesome and the droid 4g will pwn the iphone 4g. That should shut him and all the fanboys up. Then slide open your keyboard, pop the battery and memory card out and ask him to find google voice in the apple market. BAM!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Mars
    Offline

    Mars New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4G LTE will support voice/data on Verizon?
  4. Arkainzeye
    Offline

    Arkainzeye New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    will the Driod support 4G? i mean is it hardware on verizons end or is it a mixture of both? hardware on our end as well?. last night for the first time i was on my Moto Droid using wifi, and then all the sudden i got a call (used blueTeeth "lol") i must admit it was pretty cool. talking on the phone, while viewing a website i was already on, then going to another website while still being on the phone. I like it. and then i was even able to send a text message. i know we can send a text while talking so that isnt new. but my other point of this is. the driod NEVER bogged down.. internet,phone,texting Moto droid didnt skip a beat.. but it would be nice to be able to do all of this while in a car (passenger of course) etc
  5. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The current Droid does not have the hardware to use 4G....
  6. Arkainzeye
    Offline

    Arkainzeye New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats what i thought., i was wondering when i read all these (just wait for 4g) if this even applies to us.. lol i guess that will be the Next phone?
  7. jsh1120
    Offline

    jsh1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, Washington
    As noted elsewhere on this forum (Search is a useful feature), the limitation on the Droid is the result of the CDMA (rather than the GSM) network used by VZW. The former streams data while the latter sends data in discrete packets. Thus, there is no way to interrupt the voice (or data) stream in CDMA. On GSM, used by AT&T, the two data streams (voice and data) can be pushed down the pipe simultaneously.
  8. Arkainzeye
    Offline

    Arkainzeye New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow.. so since itis cdma thats the fault, whats the advantage of 4G for (us)
  9. Jeremy556
    Offline

    Jeremy556 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    None, the Droid cannot use any 4G, it does not physically have a radio to do it.
  10. Arkainzeye
    Offline

    Arkainzeye New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOL thats funny.. all this talk of 4g this and 4g that.. it doesnt even apply to us!!! LOL LOL
  11. Jeremy556
    Offline

    Jeremy556 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    If you are going to have a video conference with voice and video, you would have to do both over data to keep them in sync anyway, so it would work on either network as it wouldn't be using the "voice" part at all.
  12. Erich_F
    Offline

    Erich_F New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Odessa, FL
    There are ways to do video voice calls without using combined Voice/Data. A Skype client for Android would be a perfect example that would work very well using 3G data only.
  13. LifeIsABeach
    Offline

    LifeIsABeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When Verizon's 4G network comes online it will probably have horrible coverage like AT&T's 3G network. By the time the 4G network is built up enough many of us will be looking for a new phone.
  14. Arkainzeye
    Offline

    Arkainzeye New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Good Point!!
  15. Newton122189
    Offline

    Newton122189 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    that is 100% correct so you can tell your friend he is an idiot
  16. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Easy there Ark......once 4G is implemented in the next year or so, we're just saying it will be possible. GSM allows simultaneous voice/web browsing, CDMA doesn't. We've established that already. If you've ever used GSM, you'll know that it stinks big time. If you did have GSM, how often did you feel the need to be on the phone talking to someone and simultaneously surfing the web? Nada, or almost nada is more than likely the answer, unless you knew someone using a phone a friend on Who Wants To Be a Millionaire....remember the answer is Lima, Peru.:)
  17. Arkainzeye
    Offline

    Arkainzeye New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    My bad! lol i just got a cubby over the 4g thing, thinking Man i cant wait!.. from what im hearing i wont see any difference ? but to be honest. my 3G in pittsburgh kicks butt! Im not UNhappy with my coverage at all..
  18. Jeremy556
    Offline

    Jeremy556 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Stuck on a conference call would be my primary reason. It has never really come up though, because when stuck on a call, I'm either somewhere with wifi, or in the car and wouldn't be using needing data anyway.
  19. Vulcan1600
    Offline

    Vulcan1600 Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    142
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Not sure where in da burgh you're at, but until we moved from Cranberry Twp. to near Philly in June, I was in a spot right at the Beaver Co. and Butler Co. line (Rochester Rd) where inside my house was a little rough going so I used the network extender. Outside of that area, I had fantastic VZW 3G and signal anywhere I went. Some areas between say Butler and I-80 were spotty, but there's no population there.:)
  20. Slothead
    Offline

    Slothead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Frederick, MD USA
    One of the reasons that I got an One of the reasons that I got an iPhone years ago is because I could use it in Europe. I was told that CDMA wouldn't work there. But since that time, Verizon offered a internationally-capable Blackberry (that I never bought into), so does Verizon also have GSM, or was there some other workaround for that international Blackberry? And of course if Verizon does have GSM, why wouldn't it work with 4G if that was the obstacle?
Search tags for this page

droid razr m svd

,

svd on verizon

,

we svd upgrades