Simple Question

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by Kendraso, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. Kendraso
    Offline

    Kendraso New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas (against my will)
    Ratings:
    +0
    I currently have a HTC Incredible, its rooted, and i use the rooted wireless tether on it for playing my ps3 online and using my laptop and such with it, its why i havent gotten cable or dsl internet around here because i can use my phone. now the question is, with the nexus, once rooter, would i be able to still use the wireless tether like that, or would it be like the Droid X2 that my wife has that whether its rooted or not, still has the 2g limit?

    if im lacking any info, just ask and ill do my best to provide it.
     
  2. scampcat
    Offline

    scampcat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    A rooted Galaxy Nexus can run wi-fi tethering in both ad-hoc and infrastructure modes with no issues, using 3G and 4G. Only the latest beta version of the wi-fi tether works correctly with the GNEX though.
     
  3. sbenson
    Offline

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    PS3? Really?

    Look, I don't agree with Verizon's policy on tethering either, but people that abuse tethering like you are the reason Verizon is cracking down.

    Anyway, that's all I'm going to say on the matter.

    You need this: Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Wireless Tether for Root Users - Google Project Hosting

    Choose beta10, enjoy ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Ricardo_r21
    Offline

    Ricardo_r21 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where I live there is no broadband ISP. I use my phone to tether to my laptop and every once in a while I play ps3 online, but there is a lag, so if u don't want lag tethering 3g is not the way to go. I do it like twice a month, and i don't go over 1gig each time I play.but just watching videos, dloadin stuff on my phone I do consume a high amount of data, the tethering is a very small percentage of my data usage. Like I said it lags so it takes away some of the fun so I don't really recommend tethering to ur ps3.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  5. Kendraso
    Offline

    Kendraso New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas (against my will)
    Ratings:
    +0
    for starters i have the same issue as ricardo where i dont have available internet to pay for, so therefor i use my phone. whether you agree with what i do or not, i do thank you for the help and information. i still have unlimited data for my phone so i dont worry about the 2gb limit currently on my incredible, but i have a neighbor who rooted his x2 and has unlimited data just like i do, but he has a 2gb limit for tethering even though hes rooted. i just wanted to make sure that if i got a nexus that i would be able to use it the same way i use my incredible. closest thing to internet i can get where im at is hughesnet, and i will never do satelite, so hence the wireless tether. also, @ricardo, i use mine daily with my ps3 and get great speeds for bf3 and such, i have occasional hiccups, but i never get disconnected or have such a hiccup that it breaks gameplay.

    also @sbenson, i agree its not right, but i also disagree that verizon charges so much for a feature that comes stock on the phone to begin with, and allow you to use it in restricted amounts per month for a premium price. $30/month for data plan, plus an additional $20/month to use the hotspot which allows only 2gb usage per month before you get overages...personally thats exploitation, and its why i made the decision to use the tethering on my rooted phone. if i get caught, thats on me, right? have yet to, but hey, they look at accounts daily, i know, i work for them >.>
     
  6. scampcat
    Offline

    scampcat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's always the Cricket/Virgin/Boost/Sprint unlimited data plans for the mobile hot-spot devices. Reasonably priced without contracts on most of them. Not sure you have much of an argument against paying what the rest of us do for home internet just because you don't have a traditional ISP, other than just being cheap and wanting to risk getting caught and fined. And of course there's HughesNet Satellite ISP. Hard to say there aren't any ISP's when that's available just about everywhere except inside a missile silo.
     
  7. Kendraso
    Offline

    Kendraso New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas (against my will)
    Ratings:
    +0
    well its not a matter of being cheap, its a matter of its either satellite such as hughesnet, or phone internet. hughesnet has a daily limit on its bandwith usage, which in effect is a monthly limit, but its still DAILY...on top of that they throttle alot of people. secondly, where i live for phones, its either at&t or verizon for service. their basically the only ones with towers around here. on top of that, i get better signal with internet off my phone than hughesnet offers and for far less. traditional isps around here are either at&t dsl, or cablelynx, both of which cant service me because im too far out from their lines. im not in a large city, so before you suggest someone like sprint or boost and such, why dont you ask where i live? i USED to live in a very large city, where i could get comcast, iffy quality and such, but still worth paying for (usually). i live in arkansas, 50 miles from any even medium size city, at&t JUST got 3g here. if i was able to get dsl or cable internet, i would, but as of right now, thats not feasible. if you want to judge me because you think im stealing, you need to hit the logout button and take your opinion else where, i was neither attacking you or your views, nor was i promoting doing this, i was merely asking a question for those who do what i do. as far as the "stealing" portion goes, these phones are made BY THE MANUFACTORER with hotspot as a feature, companies like verizon/AT&T turn it into a premium feature, restrict how much you can use it without getting charged further, and then crack down on those taking advantage of the features on the phone, that it CAME STANDARD WITH. but regardless, what i do with my device is MY business, if you feel the need to chastise me, then please go else where, because all you do is make yourself look like a pretentious jackass, like youve NEVER done anything illegal. your on a forums dedicated to getting the most out of your phone, regardless of if you root or not. /end rant. and i appologize if you were just prompting a discussion, and i replied in anger, its because im tired of being judged for what i do with my device and service, and if i get caught and fined, thats on me, there is no reason to hate on me, makes no sense, kinda like what someone does in their own home, its their business, it doesnt directly affect you.
     
  8. kparks
    Offline

    kparks Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +8
    The ps3 will use hardly no data at all... running multiple laptops and downloading torrents and crap will eat the gigs up not the ps3. Im all for teathering but im against abusing it just running ur comp and a ps3 should be fine and keep what u download in check.. its the people letting there whole house and all there friends use it thats causing problems

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  9. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Your friend who has the dx2 must have added the 2gig plan even though he is rooted, he is doing it the honest way. Because he is rooted, he can call Verizon and have them remove the tethering plan and he would still be able to tether without a cap so lo g as he has an unlimited data plan.

    So to answer your question, as long as you keep your unlimited plan (no reason not too), their are apps and roms out their that will allow you to do wireless together without having to buy an extra plan.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  10. Kendraso
    Offline

    Kendraso New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas (against my will)
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah, i only use the tethering for my personal laptop and my ps3. as far as the dx2 user goes, they dont have the tethering plan, and still get the 2g cap as if they did, and their unwilling to call verizon to ask whats going on cause they are rooted. but theyve given up on tethering so its not an issue anymore.
     
  11. Art Vandelay
    Offline

    Art Vandelay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's interesting. How does Verizon know when he is tethering so that they know to cap him at 2 gigs only when he is? Is he on an unlimited plan for mobile data or the 2 gig plan? He must have used the included mobile hot spot app at some point thus triggering them to cap him to 2 gigs.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  12. Kendraso
    Offline

    Kendraso New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arkansas (against my will)
    Ratings:
    +0
    he has the unlimited plan, but hasnt done the radio hack. he may have tried using the mobile hot spot app to begin with, so it would explain that cap if thats the case, but he said it never prompted him to pay for it, and he called customer support to ask if he had it and they said no.