Simple question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by howar1rc, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. howar1rc
    Offline

    howar1rc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry guys, stupid question

    Just got a D3 in the mail, my first droid...
    I signed into facebook and it automatically imported all contacts. Most people don't have phone numbers. Can I add a number to an existing contact that was obtained through fb? I don't see how to edit a contact to add number, picture, change ringer.

    Thanks for your help
  2. christim
    Offline

    christim DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Your contacts are the same as your gmail contacts. You can edit them on your phone or on gmail.com. Looking at your contacts you shouldn't be able to tell the original ones apart from the imported FB ones.


    No such thing as a stupid question. Stupid would be having a bunch of contacts without numbers so let's fix that :)
  3. pigpen
    Offline

    pigpen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bronx ny
    what i find is easiest to do and did, was find a contact that didnt have a phone number from FB , and set up the contact exactly named how they have it on FB , log out of FB, set up the contact info with the #, and then resign back into FB, the sync will line up everything. the dupes were driving me nuts. Name, photo, and number ...
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  4. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    I think it should work the same as gmail contacts without #'s.
    Select the contact and hit the menu button, there should be an option to edit contact there. You can add their number and other info there.
    In the menu options you'll see an "options" button as well, that's where you can give them their own ringtone.

    end of line...
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  5. pigpen
    Offline

    pigpen New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bronx ny
    i always got the " this contact cannot be edited" from FB, so i set it up manually
  6. jstafford1
    Offline

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    9,064
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Oh...well that sucks. I dont use FB so never had that issue.

    end of line...
  7. aristoid
    Offline

    aristoid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In gmail -full blown on computer; there is a merge contacts option. I don't remember where, but it's faster than manually editing them all.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
  8. howar1rc
    Offline

    howar1rc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    problem solved

    Here's the answer...

    Create a new contact with the same name. THEN, once you have the number and name entered, instead of saving, hit that button that looks like 4 squares. You will have the option to "Join Contacts" It will merge the info from the new contact into the existing one.