simple Droid1 FRG83G root script for Mac

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by gnychis, Apr 8, 2011.

  1. gnychis

    gnychis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've come up with a simple script to root a Droid1 with the newest firmware FRG83G on the Mac. I went for the Mac, as it seems that there are other one-click methods for Windows and Linux... and I'm on a Mac.

    Make sure your Droid is connected to the computer using USB.

    Make sure the following settings are enabled:
    Code:
    Settings -> Applications -> Unknown sources (checked)
    Settings -> Applications -> Development -> USB debugging (checked)
    

    http://www.mediafire.com/?5vvlynmex3hhkcm

    Just unzip it, and then in a terminal:
    Code:
    ./run.sh
    
    You should have to wait about 10 seconds, then, you should have Superuser installed, and able to use "su"

    If you don't know how to open a terminal and what "./run.sh" means: http://tinyurl.com/3w8ouje
     
    #1 gnychis, Apr 8, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011
  2. Eoin

    Eoin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    gnychis, thanks for this.

    I gave it a shot, and this is what I got:


    Changing permissions...
    Exploiting system...
    Waiting for device to come back...
    Remounting file system...
    ./run.sh: line 10: adb: command not found
    Installing su...
    ./run.sh: line 12: adb: command not found
    ./run.sh: line 13: adb: command not found
    Installing busybox
    ./run.sh: line 15: adb: command not found
    ./run.sh: line 16: adb: command not found
    Installing Superuser Permissions
    ./run.sh: line 19: adb: command not found
    ./run.sh: line 20: adb: command not found
    ./run.sh: line 21: adb: command not found
    ./run.sh: line 22: adb: command not found
    Done!

    Needless to say, there's still no su icon on my phone.

    I'm the first to admit that I'm a newbie at this, having never rooted my phone. Do you know what I'm doing wrong?
     
  3. gnychis

    gnychis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sure.sorry bud. You need to install the android sdk which includes adb. Let me
    see if i can include it.
     
  4. gnychis

    gnychis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    can you try the new link?
     
  5. cloudstrife05

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Will this work with 2.2.2?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  6. gnychis

    gnychis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep, it works for 2.2.2, that is what my Droid is running and it rooted it
     
  7. Eoin

    Eoin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still can't get it to work, but please keep in mind that I'm a complete idiot.

    I re-downloaded the root folder, and I saw the adb file in there updated at 11:59. So I know that this is the updated folder, right?

    I dropped the root folder in my Applications folder – for no good reason other than I can't seem to get to run in terminal it when its just on my desktop. Then I opened terminal and typed cd /Applications/root

    And then I typed in ./run.sh

    It says "Permission denied."

    I'm sure this is a noob error. I just don't know what it is. But I know I'm not the only guy with a Droid and a MacBook Pro who wants to use the full functionality of his phone. If you can fill in the instructions a bit for guys like me, this script you wrote could help a lot of people.
     
  8. cloudstrife05

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Cool, I'm using a replacement D1 that I wasn't going to root but this changed my mind. Thx!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums
     
  9. gnychis

    gnychis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    grab the link one more time, I updated it again because when I added adb I forgot to set the executable permissions on it.

    What I suggest is, unzip it to your desktop, then open Terminal. Use the following commands after you unzip it on your desktop:
    Code:
    cd ~/Desktop/root
    ./run.sh
    
     
  10. Eoin

    Eoin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gnychis you rock! This worked like a charm! Thanks so much!
     
  11. Kiw90

    Kiw90 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help?

    I have all the most recent files, and I tried running the new script, but I get this:

     
  12. gnychis

    gnychis Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    you're welcome!

    Go back to the first thread, I added two things you need to have checked in your settings.
     
Search tags for this page

adb shell root tearminal code menally install in andrdroid

,

flash mc1 a855 1282081087 recovery-only sprecovery 0.99.3b.s

,

how to root droid 1 frg83g