Simi Automatic Root for Thunderbolt

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Hacks' started by freedomBolt, Apr 9, 2011.

  1. freedomBolt

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. bikee4

    bikee4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks works perfect!:clap:
     
  3. lisaq

    lisaq Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    HELP! After 1st reboot, the computer doesn’t recognize drivers and doesn’t show phone connected to computer so I can’t continue. What the heck do I do?????
     
  4. halopower

    halopower Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to activate debugging again
     
  5. lisaq

    lisaq Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did! The video said activate debugging and then plug in again. When I plug the phone is again, it doesn't recognize that the phone is connected.
     
  6. freedomBolt

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    If its saying checking for phone or waiting for phone for over a minute then try unpluging the phone while its checking then plug it back in.

    If that doesn't work make sure you installed the drivers right.
    I recommend using google drivers.
    http://www.fryetech.com/usb_driver.exe

    fryetech is online if you need help
     
  7. halopower

    halopower Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what the problem is then. To begin with you have to activate USB debugging after the first reboot once again you have enable USB debugging so you can continue
     
  8. mokitaco

    mokitaco New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    For some reason I can't get the phone to receive the file.

    Code:
    I'm not responsible if you brick your phone. Use at your own ricks.
    Please note do to the drivers this is only for Host Windows. Will not work in Vi
    rtualBox, Fusion.
    
    This script was based off of
    http://www.droid-life.com/2011/03/20/how-to-root-the-htc-thunderbolt-and-unlock-
    the-bootloader/
    credit goes to them. Awesome work!
    
    Make sure your Drivers are installed for your Thunderbolt. If you aren't sure ho
    w to do so watch my video on fryetech.com called Install Drivers Thunderbolt
    
    Make sure USB Debugging is turned on.
    Settings > Applications > Development > USB debugging
    (check it)
    
    Also make sure battery is fully charged
    
    Continue?
    
    type yes to continue
    
    :yes
    adb server is out of date.  killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    2208 KB/s (585731 bytes in 0.259s)
    2080 KB/s (1062992 bytes in 0.499s)
    2151 KB/s (262144 bytes in 0.119s)
    4 KB/s (20 bytes in 0.004s)
    property service neutered.
    killing adbd. (should restart in a second or two)
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    Checking for phone....
    ** daemon still not runningerror: cannot connect to daemon
    Checking for phone....
    adb server is out of date.  killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    15 KB/s (47 bytes in 0.003s)
    adb server is out of date.  killing...
    * daemon started successfully *
    c88dd947eb3b36eec90503a3525ae0de  /data/local/misc.img
    32 KB/s (99 bytes in 0.003s)
    c88dd947eb3b36eec90503a3525ae0de  /data/local/misc.img
    512+0 records in
    512+0 records out
    262144 bytes transferred in 0.113 secs (2319858 bytes/sec)
    
    Copying Big File
    
    protocol failure
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    
    Choose the bootloader option and press power. let the ROM flash. When asked to u
    pgrade, choose yes. Dont freak. its a long reboot.
    This will take awile so don't freak out!
    
    After loading skip throgh setup and once again
    Make sure USB Debugging is turned on.
    Settings > Applications > Development > USB debugging
    (check it)
    Then unplug you phone from USB for plug it back in. Wait a few seconds
    
    Press ever after doing so
    
    :
    
    Any idea what could be wrong? I have installed the adb, the HTC sync drivers, etc.
     
  9. freedomBolt

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try rebooting and try again.
     
  10. mokitaco

    mokitaco New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Rebooting the phone or the computer? I rebooted the phone and nothing changed. I keep ending up at the bootloader screen but that upgrade option never comes up. I dont think the file is ever actually transferring. Will reinstalling adb help?
     
  11. freedomBolt

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Once you are on the bootloader screen press and release the power button.
     
  12. freedomBolt

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  13. freedomBolt

    freedomBolt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone that has rooted there phone using this please let us know which system you are on? Windows XP, Vista, 7 32bit / 64bit.

    we want to make sure it works on all.
     
  14. metstang

    metstang New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It worked for me. I'm running 64 bit Windows 7. Took less than an hour.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  15. currensy

    currensy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South
    Ratings:
    +0
    how to unroot
     
Search tags for this page

root thunderbolt adb