Sim Tool Kit

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by pilotrose, Dec 15, 2010.

  1. pilotrose

    pilotrose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an unlocked and rooted Droid Pro that is not displaying the Sim Tools Kit application which allows you to access the sim cards special options which varies from carrier to carrier. I cannot see the app in the list, although it shows up under the applications manager under the "all apps" tab.

    Can anyone see it?

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  2. pilotrose

    pilotrose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    To add to this, I tried working around this by using an app called anycut to find the program and run it by creating its own shortcut; however, when I click the short cut it doesn't work. It briefly opens up a black screen then immediately closes again.



    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  3. pilotrose

    pilotrose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, another update...

    I put in a different sim card from another carrier, and after powering on the phone, the Sim Tool Kit appeared! It also worked properly with the sim card.

    The sim card that wasn't working in my Droid Pro works fine in the Galaxy S I have, so I am not sure what the problem is.

    So now that the sim tool kit was in the application list on the Droid Pro, I put in the original sim card that wasn't working before, and it says "could not launch the requested activity" after clicking on the sim tool kit app.

    So it's still not working; however, progress is being made.
     
  4. pilotrose

    pilotrose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am using my droid pro overseas at the moment and have had problems with the sim tool kit. When using foreign sim cards in my phone, the sim tool kit app doesn't appear in the apps list and sending *228# or similar codes to check balance or recharge does not work properly.

    I have tested the sim cards in my samsung galaxy s and it works perfectly with them

    Anyone else having problems?

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  5. rafeee2

    rafeee2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Why would a foreign SIM respond to the *228 code? Isn't that a Verizon code?
     
  6. pilotrose

    pilotrose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    That was just ana example. the carrier I am using at the moment uses *556# to check balance. When I dial that code, the phone says "USSD Code Running" with the red circle showing something is happening, but it just stays on that screen and never shows the balance left on the sim card. My galaxy s shows it within seconds everytime with the same sim card.

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums App
     
  7. pilotrose

    pilotrose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  8. JP 5.56

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I just randomly had an app appear in my app drawer called Sim Toolkit and I am fairly sure I never saw it there before. I can't open it or uninstall it. What is it ?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
     
  9. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    That my friend is a good question. I asked the same question over on the Motorola Razr support forum...the forum manager asked a bunch of questions... MEID etc and I haven't heard anything back from them yet...its been three weeks. I have observed the same thing...one day it is there and the next time you go to look for it it is gone. If you press on it nothing happens. Maybe someone on this forum can provide some info.
     
  10. themadgamer89

    themadgamer89 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have it in my app drawer to

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  11. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    915
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    I have not been able to figure that out or get a real answer as well. The gentleman on Moto's site acted a little surprised and was quite interested in the subject but like the poster above stated he hasn't said anything in a few weeks. I've had it since day 1 btw. It stays and never goes away.

    Sent from Droid RAZR
     
  12. Wopback

    Wopback Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Its a built in app for the sim card. It helps the phone connect with the network.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  13. Wopback

    Wopback Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    It shouldn't keep running though. Is it effecting the performance of your phone?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
     
  14. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    It comes and goes. One day you'll find it in your app drawer and 30 minutes later it is gone and might not appear again for days...totally random with no apparent user action causing it to reappear. I have seen it in the battery usage display, but only once or maybe twice. Doesn't appear to be interfering with the phone or using a lot of resources. I guess the most puzzling thing is it comes and goes.
     
  15. JP 5.56

    JP 5.56 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    More information: it appeared and shortly after I noticed a new icon on one of my home screens called "search" pressing it opened a new tab in dolphin browser and went to something like infoseek or some website named similarly. I removed the icon and then went looking for it in my apps list to uninstall, thinking it was adware or something that came with a flashlight app I had downloaded moments before I noticed the Sim Toolkit icon. Couldn't find anything to uninstall, went back into the app drawer, tapped an icon for a different app and my RAZR rebooted, and then the Sim Toolkit Icon was gone.
     
Search tags for this page
galaxy s3 create shortcut sim toolkit
,
sim tool kit is not ready or unsupported ?
,
sim toolkit android
,

sim toolkit is not ready

,
sim toolkit is not ready or supported
,

sim toolkit is not ready or unsupported

,
sim toolkit not ready or unsupported
,
sim toolkit not ready unsupported
,
sim toolkit unsupported
,
verizon sim toolkit