Sim card

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by wooddale, Sep 9, 2011.

  1. wooddale

    wooddale Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    Ratings:
    +11
    I just my bionic charging it now. I am on a THunderbolt can I just take the sim card out of my Thunder bolt and use it in the Bionic? Called Verizon and they flat out didnt know.
     
  2. ConqSoft

    ConqSoft Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yes, that's how you activate it. Nothing else to do. Move over sim and you're done.
     
  3. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    I was told that I'd be recieving a new SIM card with my Bionic and that the SIM card from my TBolt is then to be trashed
     
  4. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    You were told wrong. Your sim card is attached to your account for 4G, take it out of the TB and put it in the Bionic. Don't trash it.

    I went into the store, the tried putting a new sim card in and realized I had a TB and took it out and put it in the bionic.
     
  5. wooddale

    wooddale Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    Ratings:
    +11
    Ive been on the phone with verizon for over an hour neither one of the cards worked now I have no phone have to go to store tommorow to f\ix hope
     
  6. Mustang02

    Mustang02 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +106
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Maxx
    That sucks. It should work without any issues. Made sure you put it in correctly?
     
  7. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    Well this will be my first SIM card to SIM card phone upgrade so I'll make sure to find out once and for all which is the protocol...;)
     
  8. sharkattack99

    sharkattack99 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello
    Ratings:
    +4
    i have the same problem took out the sim card from my thunder bolt and put it in my bionic, and nothing phone was activated but i can't make calls, no data, no messaging basically anything network related can't do it.
     
  9. sharkattack99

    sharkattack99 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello
    Ratings:
    +4
    well i had to use the sim card that came with my bionic in order to get my phone to work apperently the new sim was the one i was suppose to use with my bionic.
     
  10. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks for sharing that info, I'll use the new SIM card when my Bionic comes in
     
  11. sharkattack99

    sharkattack99 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Othello
    Ratings:
    +4
    yeah i thought i could just swap my sim from my tbolt but the verizon person said that, that sim card was basically void and should have used the sim that came with my phone, cause he punched in both sim numbers and the new one was the one that was accociated with my account now, so once i put in the new one activated and everything worked.
     
  12. mamawm

    mamawm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    mississippi
    Ratings:
    +3
    my husband has a charge, i asked when i was at the store getting my bionic if we could just swap sims if we decided to swap phones and was told no, we would have to both come in to the store together to switch the phones.
     
  13. Mbk

    Mbk Android For Life Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    4,167
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +4
    Just wanted to update about how the SIM card process was for me going froma TBolt to the Bionic. Well they did not send me a SIM card with my Bionic, so I called them up and after confirming that I was indeed not shipped one they informed me to just put in the SIM card from my TBolt and power up my Bionic... well upon booting up my Bionic with the SIM card from my TBolt, it automatically had me sign into my Google account which activated both 4G and phone services in an instance.... easy as hell...

    Just wanted to let people know that the old SIM card should and can be used to activate your new Bionic..;)
     
Search tags for this page
can you transfer sim card from droid to droid bionic
,
does the droid bionic take a sim card
,
driod bionic use any sim on iphone
,

droid bionic sim card

,
how do i insert my sim card in my droid maxx
,
how do i put the sim card in my droid bionic
,
how do you save to a sim card in a bionic phone
,
what phone can i use a droid bionic sims card in
,
where does the sim card go into a droid bionic
,
will my droid incredible sim card work in droid bionic