SIM Card Issue

Discussion in 'HTC Droid DNA' started by amdmanken, Jan 21, 2013.

  1. amdmanken

    amdmanken New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got my DNA just under a month ago. I started getting a message saying that your device needs a SIM card. I restarted and the message went away until the next day. Called Verizon and found it is a known issue. They offered to replace the phone with a pre-certified phone, but not promises of that resolving the issue. Verizon tech support advised that not every DNA has this issue, and they are working on a software update. HTC advised that the update is available but the carrier is holding it back. I did get the SIM card replaced and have not received the error, but I am still getting the network cut out issue, and calls dropping. Anyone else experiancing this issue??
     
  2. drastik211

    drastik211 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have that exact issue! I'll notice that I have no service and it will tell me I need to unlock my sim card and call customer service. I restart the phone and it's all good. Highly annoying though. Happens about 1-2 times per week.
     
  3. goodwill295

    goodwill295 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Some Google searching suggests that the SIM card may not be properly inserted into its slot. Try taking the SIM card out and make sure the contacts are clear and that it is flush with the plastic piece that it goes in. This seems to have worked for others but not for me. I hope they patch it up soon, I don't really want to go through the hassle of getting a replacement phone...
     
  4. Sherry

    Sherry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    The Great Smoky Mountains NC
    Ratings:
    +7
    I had the issue with the SIM card did the reboot and the reset of the card and it seemed to work for awhile. Started happening again so I just went to my Vz store and got a new card. Have not had that issue again. However, I have had the call drop issue and that is SO ANNOYING!!!! Wish they would go ahead and get the update out.
     
  5. zynx

    zynx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Experiencing this problem and it is highly annoying - I have to restart the phone periodically throughout the day. I don't recall the Verizon rep inserting any SIM card into the phone when I bought it, so I'm not sure why it says "No SIM card". Phone's just about 2 months old and this isn't what I would consider acceptable for a premium phone from a supposedly premium carrier. Any idea when the software patch comes out?
     
  6. Robster

    Robster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The SIM card comes pre-installed in the phone. It is located on top to the right of the power button. Use the tool that came with phone (or a paperclip) and push it in the hole next to the SIM card slot. Remove the SIM card, wipe it off, then put it back in. See if that helps.
     
  7. Robster

    Robster Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I spoke with a Verizon employee today and he said that there is an update in the works to address the SIM issue. He also said that the current fix for many people is to set their 'Mobile Data' to LTE/CDMA and NOT to Global. Hope this helps.
     
  8. richiethec

    richiethec New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Weird - I was having the SIM card issue...and then it simply stopped happening.
     
  9. zynx

    zynx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks - I popped it out, wiped the contacts, and popped it back in. Let's see if that does anything. Switching to LTE/CDMA hasn't done anything to help the problem in the past.
     
Search tags for this page
dna sim card issue
,
droid 3 sim card issue
,
droid 4 clip sim
,

droid dna sim card issue

,

droid dna sim card issues

,

htc dna sim card issues

,
htc droid dna sim card issues
,
verizon phone sim card issue
,
why does my droid dna say no sim card
,
will my droid dna sim card work in a lg g2