1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Silent mode isnt silent?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Bob Dammit, Jan 21, 2010.

  1. Bob Dammit
    Offline

    Bob Dammit Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N 42° 05.183 W 079° 10.914
    I got almost busted in a meeting trying to play a game of solitaire yesterday. I guess I never knew when you hit the power button and turn off sounds, it doesnt mute media volume. Any ideas?
  2. kaboyd
    Offline

    kaboyd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    I wish it did silence everything. The same thing happened to me. I have to remember to use the volume rocker button when I open an app or game trying to be incognito. That's a bit annoying.
  3. Guchi
    Offline

    Guchi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes this is either a feature gone wrong or an over sight that desperatly needs a fix!
  4. Danthok
    Offline

    Danthok New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Agreed, however in the mean time what I use is the Tone Picker app. Just make a shortcut to that bad boy, when it opens the default screen is sliders for all the different volume levels on your phone. It does not have a media volume slider but I think it coincides with the system volume.

    Give it a try, hope it helps you not get fired! :)

    BTW it is also a great app for setting all your ring and notification tones.
  5. Houndstooth
    Offline

    Houndstooth New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How silent is silent? Assuming I'm just using stock apps like the Calendar, Browser, Messaging, etc. will any of those make noises? I need my phone to check my schedule in court, but I don't want to be that guy who's phone starts going off.
  6. kaboyd
    Offline

    kaboyd New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Thanks man, I'll check that out.
  7. Rettocs
    Offline

    Rettocs New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is a cool app that I use called "Quick Profiles" that allows you to set up custom profiles, a la Blackberry, and easily switch between them. You can change every profile to have a different volume for each item, media included. Also, you can change the brighness level for each profile, if need be.
  8. Tillers_Rule
    Offline

    Tillers_Rule New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido
    It does that because the Alarm is part of the media. That way you can silence your phone at night but still wake up in the morning.

    They should really change it though.
  9. carbine
    Offline

    carbine New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Akron, Ohio
    Silent mode puts everything on silent that doesn't use "Media Volume" (Edit: And alarm volume. Saw that in someone else's post here. Didn't want to give false info).

    There are several apps and widgets which let you control the audio widgets.
  10. CammedLS3
    Offline

    CammedLS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ how about vibrate mode? same thing except for vibrating?
  11. mjs31
    Offline

    mjs31 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NE Texas
    Yes silent mode (volume switch to the bottom) will also stop vibrating or any type of notifications with the exception of the led. Vibrate allows notifications, but it just uses vibrate instead. It will not turn off media
  12. jcardona1
    Offline

    jcardona1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Commiefornia
    this is a complete screwup on Motorola's part. did anybody not realize what they were doing? i cant believe nobody bother to say hey, maybe when people click silent, they really want the phone to be silent, as in NO sounds whatsoever.

    they really dropped the ball on this one. i realize its for the alarm, but to not make the alarm seperate from media is COMPLETE STUPIDITY
  13. checker555
    Offline

    checker555 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    I have also noticed that if I am playing some games late at night in silent mode, the haptic feedback makes more noise than I am comfortable with. At least I get concerned it might disturb the baby or my husband. I can't seem to find a way to turn it off. The haptic feedback item in the phone settings doesn't let me unselect it when in silent mode. :( I think it's strange. In non-silent mode, I can unselect it just fine.
  14. ryguy5254
    Offline

    ryguy5254 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I suggested to the author of Beautiful Widgets to add that feature. Actually I just put it in my comments. I wonder if s/he reads those things.
  15. Wraith
    Offline

    Wraith New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vibrate mode loss!?$#&$#

    They should really fix the problem with Vibrate mode reset when you put it in Silent mode.

    Vibrate mode should be a stand alone option, not linked to any other setting.
Search tags for this page
android mute doesn't change media volume
,
android mute doesn't mute media
,

android silent mode media volume

,
does silent mode silence everything android
,
droid 2 silent mode
,
galaxy s4 mute doesn't mute media
,
how to put a droid charge on silent
,
how to put droid 2 on silent
,

how to put droid 3 on silent

,
silence droid charge power on
,
silent mode game
,
silent mode lg ally
,
silent mode with media volume on
,
what does silent mean on droid mean
,
what happened to silent mode for the droid