Signal Strength... Battery Life... Web page loading speeds.

Discussion in 'RAZR HD and RAZR HD MAXX Support' started by jaydub5, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At times I only have 2 bars of signal strength. I was told by Verizon techies that
    this should not effect my battery life, which has been VERY erratic.
    They said as long as I have 4G, the battery is fine. Well, I disagree, especially
    where loading pages from the Web is concerned.
    Any thoughts?
    Thanks!
  2. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The less your bars are the more you're radio has to "up" the power to communicate with the tower.

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  3. turbodave
    Offline

    turbodave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    lloydstrans is absolutely correct. 4G has nothing to do with it. If you're in a weak signal area (1 or 2 bars) your battery will be drained quicker. Modern phones use a farily sophistiated closed loop power control system, and they are in constant communications with the cell system in the background. Checking in with the system every few hundred miliseconds. So even if you never touched your phone all day, you'd see quicker battery drain in a weak signal aren than you would if you had a good strong signal. Oh, BTW, I'm a retired Verizon cell phone repair tech.
  4. kmf1
    Offline

    kmf1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    @turbodave...Nice to know that someone of your expertise is keeping an "eye" on us. Thanks!:biggrin:
  5. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys... knew something was not right. I rarely get
    3 bars, yet there is a cell tower 1.25 miles from my position,
    no mountains or buildings in the way.
  6. turbodave
    Offline

    turbodave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Well, just because there's a cell site a mile and a quarter away doesn't mean it's the site for your carrier.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX HD using Tapatalk 2.
  7. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    There is an app that will tell you (actually a flag on a map) what tower you are "handshaking" with. The one I used pushed ads to the notification bar, mandatory delete for me.

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  8. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'Of course I am referring to a VERIZON TOWER. DUH.
    Right now I am down to 13% battery, 10 hours, 44 minutes
    Screen 66% 6 hours
    Voice 16% 1 hour
    Chrome 6% 47 minutes
    the rest are 2-3%
    Getting worse instead of better. Last night I let the
    Battery run down to 2%. The night before it ran down
    to 4%.
    No crap apps in background.
    Signal strength between 2 and 3 bars.
    Screen freezes constantly on Chrome.
    My third phone. Starts off OK, and deteriorates fairly
    rapidly.
    Any suggestions? I force close any running apps I am not
    using. Have cleaned the cache as well.
  9. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Jaydub5, just because there is a tower, Verizon or ?, that is not necessarily the tower you "grab". I have 2 Verizon towers within 2 or 3 miles both 4g. They, being conjested with freeway traffic, I usually won't grab that tower.

    BTW what phone do you have, mobile can't readily see your phone in your profile?

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  10. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ??? It says RAZR MAXX HD in my profile. My info on the towers
    comes from Verizon Level 2 techies. They said my area was
    supposed to be receiving a strong signal... But NOOOO.
    Am charging phone and will run in safe mode tomorrow., via
    suggestion by VZW.
  11. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    The bar I see just says droid, sorry, my 2 towers are supposed to get get a 3rd tower because Verizon has a lapse of coverage there. Go figure. I get about 8 hours of screen time. Mine is spread out though, 15 minutes here 30 here etc. Continuous will be harder on the battery though.

    "stroped" of my razr maxx, poo.
  12. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Lloyd. 8 hours screen...how much voice call time?
    When you get 8 hours screen time, what is your total
    battery up time?
  13. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Typical day of voice is between 1-2 hours, hold sucks. I'm a creature of habit, charge my phone from 2-5PM, when it hits the charger its right around 50% with about 4 hours of screen, plus talk time. When I try to kill it off for calibrating the meter is 44 hours of up time, 8-9 hours of screen, 3-5 hours of voice.
    I have to try real hard to kill it in 44 hours. You tube straight for 2 hours works pretty well to knock off 30% of my battery. My screen up time is texting, forums, email, FB etc.

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  14. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Right now, 67%, 17 hours, 3 hours of screen. I'll update at 2 PM.

    And for what its worth, just checked 113dbs. Poo.

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  15. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now at 26% battery...16 hr. , 52 Minutes... although 10 of those
    hours were from recharge last night until use this AM.
    Screen...58% 5 Hr. 14 minutes
    Voice...1 hr. 36 minutes
    I am in Safe Mode. Do not see a difference.
    Thanks
  16. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    5+ hours of screen, are you texting? Angry birds? Streaming videos?

    BTW I'm now at 61%, this is the 1st time I touched the phone since earlier.

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  17. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All work... Gmail, Web research, texting, voice calls.
    No games, etc.
  18. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Jaydub5, have you tried to turn off chrome sync. Chrome loves to constantly refresh. I killed on mine and "whoa!!! What a difference"

    If it's not HD it might as well be a newspaper.
  19. jaydub5
    Offline

    jaydub5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I keep the main sync off. How do I turn off Chrome Sync? I looked in
    Chrome Settings... Zip.
    Right now I have only 2 bars of signal strength. I max out at 3 bars.
  20. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,792
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    48
    open up chrome > close all tabs > menu > settings > click your email account > sync off.

    in 18 hours it only had 4 wake locks and 20 seconds of background usage. Down from 700 to 800 wake locks 20 minutes of background cpu usage.
    1 person likes this.
Search tags for this page

battery life /sigmal strength motorola maxx hd

,

battery life signal strength

,
does low battery affect signal on phone
,

does poor signal strength affect battery

,

does signal strength affect battery life

,

droid razr maxx hd signal strength

,
droid razr no signal poor battery life
,
keep razr on strongest cell signal
,

low sugnal battery

,

razr maxx hd signal strength

,

signal strength and webpage loading differences

,

verizon update towers razor