Signal Issues?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2' started by SDCA_DUDE, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. SDCA_DUDE
    Offline

    SDCA_DUDE New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone else confirm having data/signal issues?

    From Engadget (Droid 2 review -- Engadget)
  2. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i read that and have been monitoring my droid 2 all day today.

    i did not just look at the bars but also signal strength in the about phone status area. that is where things are a bit wacky. while the dbm can vary from -65 to
    -69, the bars can be fluctuating from 2 to 4. sometimes the status shows -69 and 2 bars, and sometimes at -69 but at 3 bars.

    something is wacky. no dropped calls all day though. not sure which thing is wrong.
  3. cuzlion
    Offline

    cuzlion New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had four calls drop which is a little unusual for me, I didn't get that with the Droid x but then again it is not yet a pattern as many calls have done just fine. I never got a good signal in my house with my Touch Pro 2 and noticed a huge improvement with the Droid X and while the Droid 2 might not be quite equal to the X in my house it is still way better than the Touch Pro 2.
  4. ThundarPanda
    Offline

    ThundarPanda New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not just new to the Droid 2 and Android, but I'm new to Verizon. I'm from the New York City area though, and we're supposedly pretty good with coverage from most carriers, incuding Verizon.

    However, I'm getting really spotty reception in some places (namely, the Bronx) where I always did fine with T-mobile. I'm trying to figure out if its truly poor coverage by Verizon in this area, or if its this Droid 2 signal issue.

    I will say that at least once this weekend, I have seen 3G come and go randomly, despite my sitting in the exact same spot the whole time. Not just the icon fluctuating, but actual data service was unavailable.

    Also, another observation, Target stores tend to be black holes for cell phone reception and naturally, I had no bars there today. However, I noticed my sister on T-mobile had 2 bars. Out of curiousity I sent some texts, and they all went through fine with no delay, despite not having any bars.

    I have to do a bit of research the next week to figure out if its Verizon coverage or the Droid 2 itself :-\
  5. tkh
    Offline

    tkh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been with Verizon for over 7yrs and never had signal issue at home, but since my Droid 2, I get so frustrated with the inconsistency of it. At times, no bars, while my husband's Incredible has all. Pls let me know what I can do since I'm new to this smartphone thing. thnx!
  6. Kamokazi
    Offline

    Kamokazi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only issue I noticed is my phone dropped to 1x and then refused to do anything after an hour drive through weak signal areas (near the OH-IN border north of Dayton/South of Lima is really bad). Just rebooted it and it was fine. Aside from that no issues here...I haven't been watching the signal bar like a hawk but data and voice are fine for me.
  7. paletero
    Offline

    paletero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SF Peninsula
    ditto. My roommate's EnV touch gets full bars while I get 0-1 in the same spot. Dropped calls, network constantly disconnecting, texts not going through... uggghhh. My crappy enV2 had much better coverage
  8. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "i had posted in another thread how my phone bars would switch from say 3 to 1, but meanwhile in the phone status, the phone would be at the same dbm. something is up.

    today my partner and i drove down on the parkway in jersey. his droid 2 showed no network available, right where the turnpike hits the parkway, a great signal area. he couldn't make a call for 30 seconds. meanwhile my droid 2 showed 3-4 bars of 3g.

    today he had 2 calls go right to vm. then we went to the verizon store in Totowa right on the highway to see the Droid x. in the store his droid2 had 3g and good bars, meanwhile my droid 2 went into 1x for 30 seconds or so.

    later on driving down the highway near a verizon store, my phone was back in 1x again where i always have plenty of 3g.

    something is wacky here. of course when i called they said take out the battery for 30 seconds, update the prl then see what happens. we'll see for a couple of days.

    we switched to verizon for the network, since we are starting a business that relies on our mobile network we wanted the best - if this is not fixed we will go elsewhere."
  9. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    new replacement droid 2 also has same signal display issues.

    sometimes 1 bar at -70dbm sometimes 3 bars at -70dbm, etc... never know what i have.
  10. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Folks....some ppl with the X had this same issue. It got fixed for most, probably all with a quickly released update.

    Some ppl with the X had activation issues that caused problems like this too. Its a software thing that an update should fix like it did for the X. Verizon or Motorola just needs to be aware that the issue that happened with the X is happening again with the Droid 2.

    Its not the network thats the problem. Its the phone. I can attest for the network from using the Droid since April and X since July. I also been with Verizon for almost 10 years. If u have coverage in your area, the network is very nice.
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010
  11. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    i never read about the issue with the X like i have read with the droid 2. do you have any linkage?

    i do think it is a software issue. the thing is that it has not been acknowledged by verizon or motorola. my business partner and i are relying on these phones for our business, if this is not addressed before our 30 days is up we will probably go to sprint as they are the only other decent carrier around here with a decent android slider.
  12. jroc
    Offline

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Verizon Wireless Motorola DROID X selling out, activation issues Boy Genius Report

    Droid X Reception Issues - Android Forums

    Poor Reception - Android Forums

    3G Reception Differences - Android Forums

    Crazy Reception on Droid X - Android Forums

    3g Reception/Antenna Issue - Android Forums

    Droid X Signal problems? - Android Forums

    This sucks! My Droid X lost signal. Anyone else? - Android Forums

    X often switches into 1X even in metro areas - Android Forums

    Everytime I turn around I find more threads...lol

    Somehow it escaped the major blog sites or the Droid 2 is having a worse problem. (BGR did post about the activation issue tho) But this has been seen before recently. Its funny thats its another Motorola phone. When I got my update for the X, my reception was going crazy for a minute. It fixed itself tho. One time my signal was doing like whats happening on the Droid 2, but it was in the middle of the night. It coulda been the Battery Manager settings acting up. It also fixed itself and its all good now.
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2010
  13. trud22
    Offline

    trud22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm a new Droid user and have the same problem. The signal constantly fluctuates from 1 to 3 bars. I just received the phone a couple days ago and it's been like this since.

    Is Motorola/Verizon generally good at sending updates to improve these kinds of issues? I'm thinking about calling in and asking for a replacement D2, but I'm not sure if that would guarantee no signal/reception issues. It seems not everyone is experiencing these problems, but I'm hoping it gets fixed soon.
  14. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks. i just hope this gets fixed within a few weeks otherwise we will have to leave verizon if there are no droid x's for us to switch to.
  15. flylikeag6
    Offline

    flylikeag6 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the signal issues.

    Going to stick with my Droid 2 for 30 days.. if Verizon or Moto hasn't resolved anything by then, I'm returning it or trading it for a Droid X..
  16. tobytl
    Offline

    tobytl New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From the one's I've seen it's been 50/50 for signal issues. The one we own is fine, all over the city, works great everywhere (except the 215/15 area of las vegas, where all cell signal goes to die). Some others are horrible, some are fine. The one I laid hands on, I think I may have fixed. Did a PRL update (*228 option 2) and a factory reset, hasn't had a problem since from what I've been told. But I tried this with another phone, and no joy.

    So, who knows? It's got to be software, not that it makes a difference to those affected. I've witnessed the same piece of hardware with and without the problem, the only thing different was a data/cache wipe and a PRL update. So it can be fixed, just a question of when.
Similar Threads
  1. Mattpfeil
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    886
  2. Drd2VZW
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,212
  3. yamaha83
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,224
  4. RJT185
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,794
  5. wvdroidman
    Replies:
    58
    Views:
    3,907
Loading...
Search tags for this page
boost signal of motorola droid a855
,
droid a855 bad reception and dropping calls
,
droid a855 no network signal
,
droid a855 reception compared to droid 2
,
how to improve signal strength on droid a855
,
how to make a signal for motorola droid a855
,
increase signal of droid pro
,
motorola a855 call reception test
,

motorola droid a855 no signal