should i update to 183.46.10?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX HD' started by r3m1x, Jul 7, 2014.

  1. r3m1x

    r3m1x New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i currently have 9.30.1 and i haven't updated yet and was wondering if it was worth updating to kitkat 4.4.2 (183.46.10)? if you guys think it is worth updating, please point me to the OTA as i need to update it manually. thanks!
     
  2. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    i would update just to unlock the bootloader, then if you dont like KK, you can flash back to JB, otherwise you are stuck on KK.
    you can use this guide to update, weather you want to unlock or not.
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2789743
     
  3. r3m1x

    r3m1x New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you very much. i will try to do this. most likely, i'll end up reverting back because i've read in previous comments certain tools are gone in KK.
     
  4. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +268
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    Agree with Bwen. KK is nice but in many cases Battery Life is REALLY bad. But, asa Bwen said, upgrade so you can at least Root and Unlock.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    I hate hearing battery life is bad. Kit Kat improved battery a lot (it's in the change log and the programming.) It's recommended to factory reset after the update.

    The complaints I hear the most is the look of kk.

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. PereDroid

    PereDroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Ratings:
    +268
    Current Phone Model:
    RAZR HD
    I haven't heard one person complain about the look. I may have... I liked the old blue icons. But the 5 RAZR people I know hardly noticed that.

    Factory Reset does NOT help. I tried that, too.
     
  7. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    @GoCliffGo05 also,,
    this new forum software seems to have an issue with multi quote.

    go here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2789743
    unlock your bootloader,then you are free to flash your phone to any software that works best for you.
    if you need any help past that, dont hesitate to ask br0.
     
  8. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    Will pass it along.

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
     
  9. GoCliffGo05

    GoCliffGo05 Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,854
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +335
    @Bwen multi quote seems to be working fine for us. What happens when you try, are you using Tapa or browser?

    Sent from my Eclipsed XT1060
     
  10. bweN diorD

    bweN diorD Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +74
    Current Phone Model:
    G2
    it looks like it was my issue.
    normally, if you hit +quote then reply, it adds both messages to the reply.
    seems with this software, you have to go through an extra step of choosing/confirming the multi quotes before they will go into the reply. i missed that the other day.

    thanks for your help.