Should I switch to Sprint from VZW?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by patfactorx, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. patfactorx

    patfactorx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are there any good phones in the pipe for Sprint and can I flash my Droid 2 Global to work on Sprint?

    Also: they are giving me $125 to switch!

    Port In Credit
     
  2. lockman

    lockman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cannot flash it. Sorry.
     
  3. Pixiefrogw

    Pixiefrogw New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before switching make sure you are in their service area and won't be doing any roaming. They say unlimited roaming but it's not really unlimited. If you use 800 mins or 1/2 of your mins in roam a month for 3 months they will boot you. We were Sprint customers for 8 years, we moved and started to have to many roaming mins, got a letter from Sprint about it and now we are with Verizon. Sprint is cheaper then Verizon though.
     
  4. UltraDroid

    UltraDroid DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2,581
    Likes Received:
    201
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast!
    Ratings:
    +213
    Are you sure? The reason I ask is that I had a Motorola RAZR several years back that I brought over to Verizon, from Sprint. It worked like a charm on the Verizon network, up to the time I got my first Droid phone. That was of course, NOT a smart phone, so maybe I'm comparing apples to oranges...

    -Mike
     
  5. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,779
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +216
    You can't flash from VZW to Sprint and vice versa.
     
  6. takeshi

    takeshi Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    You make no mention of coverage. Always select your carrier based on real world coverage (don't rely on maps) where you need it.
     
  7. patfactorx

    patfactorx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    i live in the 92122 zipcode which is well covered but I travel a lot. VZW has been awesome when I travel but I unno what ppls experiences with Sprint are
     
  8. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    Well, since you asked I'm going to tell you. No, you shouldn't. Coverage is the reason why. Sprint is a small time player in this game and their coverage in certain parts of the country stinks. And the first time that happens after you switched you'll say "they told me so. Why didn't I listen?"
     
  9. patfactorx

    patfactorx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    so Sprint doesn't have a roaming agreement for 3g with VZW? I heard rumors it does
     
Search tags for this page
can droid 2 work on sprint
,
flashing droid razr to sprint
,

how to flash a droid 2 global to sprint

,
htc md:switch to game?code=cashier