Should I return my Maxx if it is having auto-rotate problems?

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR MAXX' started by thebeeobee, May 31, 2012.

  1. thebeeobee
    Offline

    thebeeobee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've found several threads on here from Razr and Razr Maxx owners having this issue, as well as a thread on Moto's site: https://forums.motorola.com/posts/a33e42d2d7

    Holding down power and volume restored my auto-rotate, but later in the day, it wasn't working again.

    Also, I see on Moto's site that there is a stuck compass issue, as well: https://forums.motorola.com/posts/a33e42d2d7 and in this thread, someone takes a magnet to the compass to fix it: https://forums.motorola.com/posts/5a193db8c2

    I'm not very familiar with this hardware, so I'm wondering, are these isolated issues or related? (it doesn't seem like a connection has been made anywhere, if they are related).

    Does the "compass" control the switch from landscape to vertical or is that a different sensor?

    In some droidforums threads, there were users that bought up to 3 razrs and the problem kept occurring.

    So, I'd like to get some feedback from ya'll.

    "Nope, mine works fine" isn't really a helpful response... I'd like to know more about what sensors detect the autorotate and see if this is hardware or software related and also if I get another Maxx, will I be encountering this again.

    Thanks!
  2. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Download androsensor from the play store. It shows readings from all of the sensors.

    Though you said its not what your looking for, none of my maxx's has this issue :)

    Androsensor will show you real time readings from your device, so you will see if its a sensor issue :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  3. thebeeobee
    Offline

    thebeeobee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FANTASTIC! Thank you. As of now, everything seems to be working and registering correct values. I will check the app again if the auto-rotate "bug" reappears. I feel like this is going to answer a lot of questions.
  4. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I hope it does. It did for me. Glad I could help :)

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  5. EA.Droyd
    Offline

    EA.Droyd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, N.C.
    My Maxx started having this issue about a month ago. I come from the DROID 1 and it too had the same intermittent
    issues, so I just figured it was just my moto screwing with me. I usually just power it off/ on and the problem goes away for a bit.
    I thought about taking it back to Verizon for another Maxx, but I didn't want to deal with someone else's problems, since they won't give a new replacement. Is there a true fix for this? Does make me wonder what else is wrong with the phone that I'm not yet aware of.
  6. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    Neither of my devices did this except once. And I fixed it the way I listed above.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  7. budhah
    Offline

    budhah New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems to w:icon_eek:rk here too. Thanks
  8. thebeeobee
    Offline

    thebeeobee New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, right now my auto rotate isn't working again. I checked the "Androsensor" app and all of the sensors seem to be registering new values when I move the phone, so I have to believe this is a software issue (especially when resetting seems to fix it for everyone).

    I also checked to make sure Auto Rotate was still checked in the settings, it was.

    I wonder if ICS will fix this bug.

    EDIT: if anyone else has any other troubleshooting advice, please feel free to share. I'm going to NOT reset so i can test anything you guys can throw at me.
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  9. 94lt1
    Offline

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11,472
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SE TX
    I hope ics will fix this. :) no guarantee though.

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
  10. DROIDX2TN
    Offline

    DROIDX2TN New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you tried clearing the cache and restarting your phone? It works for me.
Search tags for this page
droid maxx hd auto rotate not working
,
droid razr auto rotate fix
,

droid razr auto rotate not working

,

droid razr maxx auto rotate not working

,
droid razr maxx does not auto rotate
,
droid razr maxx hd auto rotate not working
,

droid razr maxx not auto rotating

,
droid razr maxx will not auto rotate
,

droid razr not auto rotating

,

razr maxx auto rotate problem

,
razr maxx not rotating
,

razr maxx rotation problems