Sholes questions, if true then it is better than BB

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by dredge, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. if you are running BB, can you buy the smupdater and install the whole sholes rom from there? - answered
    2. if you buy the smupdater, do u have to use ur computer for anything- ANSWERED
    3. does sm updater come with the smoked glass rom - ANSWERED!
    4. does smupdater come with android tethering installed-answered - ANSWERED!
    5. does it oc to 800 - answered
    Update, all went well - 1 question
    do i wipe data after all is installed..seems like it is in recovery-like mode after u are done installing it. it says press yes if u are using 2.1
    No?
    Yes?
     
    #1 dredge, Feb 8, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2010
  2. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    yes no yes and yes!!
     
  3. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so if i do buy it then i dont have to use my computer for android tether, smoked glass rom, or to delete BB off my phone?
     
  4. Vanilla Tarantino

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. I believe so. Still, if you're not using vanilla 2.0.1 it's probably safest to wipe everything and install clean.
    2. No, everything is handled by your phone.
    3. Smoked glass ROM is something different, I'm assuming you're asking simply about the smoked glass theme. Yes, you have the option of using either the stock them or smoked glass.
    4. Yes, tethering app is pre-installed.

    I personally see no reason why people choose BB over the sholes ROM now. It is an excellent piece of work, but the Sholes ROM makes everything so easy, it runs incredibly well, and gives you the freedom to choose what you do and do not want when installing the ROM. It's amazing. They really are leading the charge for innovation in Droid development.
     
  5. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    so how would i wipe clean =[
     
  6. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    also if i wipe clean, wouldnt i have to reinstall everything...3rd party apps...swype =[
     
  7. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    If you use Titanium Backup you shouldn't have to worry about reinstalling everything, but you would have to do a restore obviously.
     
  8. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    is titanium available via market?
     
  9. dredge

    dredge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i got smupdater, pressed back to stock, works fine as of now.

    does sholes OC to 800 mhz?
     
  10. ridleykj0

    ridleykj0 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went from BB to Sholes with the updater and did not have to do a data wipe...no troubles so far.
     
  11. Hugh Jass

    Hugh Jass Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ratings:
    +123
    Yes, all the way to 1ghz if you want.
     
  12. natediddy1120

    natediddy1120 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    ???
    Ratings:
    +1
    I felt the same way about Sholes ROM until I tried to overclock higher than 950MHz!!! So I went back to BB so I could enjoy the speed of 1+GHz...
     
Search tags for this page

are droid pro and sholes the same