sholes mod updater

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hydrolex99, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. hydrolex99
    Offline

    hydrolex99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may be a noob question but that sholes mod updater's comments section make it seem like it roots the droid for you is that an incorrect assumption?
     
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    That would be correct.
     
  3. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, it will root your phone for you and install the Sholes ROM.
     
  4. hydrolex99
    Offline

    hydrolex99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies guys, but the two answers seem to be contradicting.
     
  5. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have tried this app and yes it roots your phone and gives you the option once you root to return back to stock as well as return to there ROM as well. its really easy too. i did it in less then 15 minutes and was roooted with no issues at all. also look into getting setcpu... so you can overclock up to 1ghz. absolutely great app!!![​IMG]

    This is someones post that used that app. Hope it helps!
     
  6. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will have a conformation of which rom to select, to download, and then flash. You can chose quit during these prompts and your phone will remain untouched. I think all of use were a little uncomfortable when first using SM Updater but it is a piece of cake if you follow the instructions. Make sure you don't select "wipe data" if you want to keep your settings and pay attention to what programs will be installed and which are left out (I always manually select to keep the default email as I have a widget that uses it). This will all make sense once you start the process.
     
  7. hydrolex99
    Offline

    hydrolex99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome. Thanks
     
  8. joeymoose
    Offline

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem, I can't take the credit. I just googled your question...
     
  9. Matth3w
    Online

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hook just misunderstood your question or your poorly worded your question..he was saying "that would be correct, as in it will root your Droid."

    Negative questions are confusing. :)
     
  10. MontyMo
    Offline

    MontyMo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It did root my Droid. :)
    It is one of the best things I have installed. THe latest ROM v2.0.5 is great. I am overclocking to 1MHz. No crashes. The Droid flies!

    Monty
     
  11. voiddroid
    Offline

    voiddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ditto.:icon_ banana:
     
  12. therock
    Offline

    therock Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N. GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to ask about the return to stock process. I rooted in another fashion and did a return to make sure it would and it brought me back to the "as purchased" form.

    I did not like this. I had to go back after lots of stuff and it deterred me from rooting again.

    Does "this" root provide a return to stock in the same configuration as the day it was flashed?

    Thanks
     
  13. turtlesoup
    Offline

    turtlesoup New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sholes SM Updater

    So I just noticed a major problem with the Sholes updater. You can use it to update to new Sholes roms or go back to the default rom, except when their web page is down, like it is right now. I launched the update app and it pops up an error that it can't connect to their web site so I can't change roms or revert back to the default rom.

    I appreciate all the work the Sholes guys do but that is a horrid design flaw. Even if their site is down I should still have the option to revert back to the default rom.
     
  14. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you've saved the .tar files you can flash to ROMs at any time. SholesUpdater is transitioning to DroidMod.... there's a thread on it in the Droid Development section in the forums if you want more info.
     
  15. lemodular
    Offline

    lemodular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should be able to reflash back to an earlier backed up ROM by rebooting into recovery mode and select the backed up image to restore.

    As for Sholes, their organization is going through some changes. Here is the "new" site DroidMod - Everything Droid doesn't, DroidMod does.
     
Search tags for this page

sholes mod