sholes mod updater

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by hydrolex99, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. hydrolex99

    hydrolex99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This may be a noob question but that sholes mod updater's comments section make it seem like it roots the droid for you is that an incorrect assumption?
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    That would be correct.
     
  3. JhankG

    JhankG Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, it will root your phone for you and install the Sholes ROM.
     
  4. hydrolex99

    hydrolex99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replies guys, but the two answers seem to be contradicting.
     
  5. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have tried this app and yes it roots your phone and gives you the option once you root to return back to stock as well as return to there ROM as well. its really easy too. i did it in less then 15 minutes and was roooted with no issues at all. also look into getting setcpu... so you can overclock up to 1ghz. absolutely great app!!![​IMG]

    This is someones post that used that app. Hope it helps!
     
  6. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You will have a conformation of which rom to select, to download, and then flash. You can chose quit during these prompts and your phone will remain untouched. I think all of use were a little uncomfortable when first using SM Updater but it is a piece of cake if you follow the instructions. Make sure you don't select "wipe data" if you want to keep your settings and pay attention to what programs will be installed and which are left out (I always manually select to keep the default email as I have a widget that uses it). This will all make sense once you start the process.
     
  7. hydrolex99

    hydrolex99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome. Thanks
     
  8. joeymoose

    joeymoose Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No problem, I can't take the credit. I just googled your question...
     
  9. Matth3w

    Matth3w Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hook just misunderstood your question or your poorly worded your question..he was saying "that would be correct, as in it will root your Droid."

    Negative questions are confusing. :)
     
  10. MontyMo

    MontyMo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It did root my Droid. :)
    It is one of the best things I have installed. THe latest ROM v2.0.5 is great. I am overclocking to 1MHz. No crashes. The Droid flies!

    Monty
     
  11. voiddroid

    voiddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ditto.:icon_ banana:
     
  12. therock

    therock Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    N. GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to ask about the return to stock process. I rooted in another fashion and did a return to make sure it would and it brought me back to the "as purchased" form.

    I did not like this. I had to go back after lots of stuff and it deterred me from rooting again.

    Does "this" root provide a return to stock in the same configuration as the day it was flashed?

    Thanks
     
Search tags for this page

sholes mod