sholes 2.0.5

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by EvilWays, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. EvilWays
    Offline

    EvilWays New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    miami,
    Anyone got any input on this? Sholes.info says no more 2.1 launcher. Anyone checked this out yet?
  2. JhankG
    Offline

    JhankG New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Summerfield, NC
  3. natediddy1120
    Offline

    natediddy1120 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ???
    Yep....came out last night...works the best for me so far compared to there other ROMs for me
  4. gnmitchell
    Offline

    gnmitchell New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    downloaded it last night and its running very very smooth!
  5. STIDRIVER
    Offline

    STIDRIVER New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm torn... I love how much faster and smoother this version runs.. But, I do miss the 3D app tray and home button (which Ashkev on this site customized to a Michigan emblem for me)...
  6. EricF
    Offline

    EricF New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    Sholes 2.0.5 is excellent!

    I am really pleased with this ROM. Extremely stable, fast, and unbelievably easy to install. Highly recommended. Personally do not miss the 2.1 launcher, too unstable on my droid.

    I have used extensively Bugless Beast and Smoked Glass, and while they are both great, prefer the Sholes ROMs. Also highly recommend K9 email. Check their downloads website for the latest versions.

    EricF

    Please support the developer(s) of your choice. It is awesome to have these options.
  7. Guurzak
    Offline

    Guurzak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does this mod still have 5 screens, or do we lose that with the 2.1 launcher?
  8. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    yes 5 screens
  9. FlacoTech23
    Offline

    FlacoTech23 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Passaic,New Jersey!
  10. HMJB
    Offline

    HMJB New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    heres what you do if you really want to run the new sholes..
    go back to your backed up nandroid or w/e it was, for that launcher....install Astro file manager...back up your launcher onto the SD card

    install the new sholes... install your custom launcher with Astro :p

    As long you know the 2.1 launchers dont play well with the droid... :)
  11. JFDroid
    Offline

    JFDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    2.0.5 is the best ROM I have used to date! The Sholes team did a great job.

    I'm overclocked @ 1.1ghz and it's running really smooth. 0 FC's so far, and I've had this installed for ~8 hours now.
  12. Guurzak
    Offline

    Guurzak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OMG so much better.

    I rooted and installed 2.03 using SMU a few days ago, with SetCPU running at 800MHz. The 2.1 launcher was pretty, but I wasn't really seeing any performance increase and got a lot of force closes- not stable enough for me to feel comfortable with.

    Upgraded to 2.05 today and it's rocksolid, and the UI *flies*. It was a great call to return to the 5-screen version of the old launcher, it's much much more responsive than the hacked 2.1 version. I'm very, very pleased with the performance of my phone now
  13. mark729
    Offline

    mark729 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried to install 2.0.5 with smupdater8 but it cycles bact to wipe data?
    I had 2.0.3 with no problem...so I was excited to install 2.0.5 but coundnt go through...
    so I back to the stock using sprecovery mode....
    now I'll try again 2.0.5.
  14. Yota
    Offline

    Yota New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Should be does not play well on some Droids. Worked flawlessly on mine and others. :icon_ nana:
  15. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I just did a clean wipe out as recommended. Successfully updated to 2.0.5. Now went to Nandroid restore so i can get all my settings, etc.. back. Do i select the "Simple Nandroid restore (latest)", or the "Advanced Nandroid restore"?
  16. Yota
    Offline

    Yota New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Advanced. Then just select to restore just data. You will have to set all you 5 screens back the way you want them but all your apps,info ect will be there
  17. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Thank you Yota and also Pmas from the other thread.
  18. cisco0910
    Offline

    cisco0910 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    damm, one more thing. After i select the just data a list comes up on the next page...is the option on the very top the latest or the bottom? There's no dates to differentiate
  19. Yota
    Offline

    Yota New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You clicked Choose back up. Go out of that and choose Perform restore.
  20. TD7424
    Offline

    TD7424 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I am downloading 2.0.5 right now, when i flashed 2.0.3 I wiped all data. Is it really recommended to wipe dat a again for 2.0.5? If I do wipe data and want to do a Nandroid restore do I hold X down and power up to get to that point? Or What?
    Thanks