Sholes 2.0.5 Navigation/maps error

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by poooookah78, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. poooookah78

    poooookah78 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I posted this in a different forum but I didn't want to hijack the thread so I thought I'd post fresh in here.

    I just patched to 2.0.5 (version 8) today and I LOOOOVE the new OC ranges and the speed itself. I'm having one noticeable problem that is huge for me. I hit the mic button and say something like "Navigate to the White House" and instead of the nav feature doing turn by turn directions for me, it simply pulls up a browser with the exact words I spoke "Navigate to the White House" in a google search bar with the results below. I redownloaded google maps (they were not currently installed after patching to 2.0.5) and I also made sure GPS was turned on. Any other ideas? Anyone else having/already had this problem?

    Your responses are always very appreciated!

    Thanks!
     
  2. Branndon

    Branndon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just tested it for ypu, works great for me on 2.0.5
     
  3. poooookah78

    poooookah78 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2

    Any ideas on what I should do? Would a wipe/reinstall do any good?
     
  4. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I just tested it too. It worked, but the first time it wanted me to download some voice to text navigation software in the market.
     
  5. poooookah78

    poooookah78 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Any other ideas, guys? :(
     
  6. WhosToBlame

    WhosToBlame Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Dodgertown
    Ratings:
    +0
    Worked well for me. Did you do a data wipe? It is recommended, when you have issues, to reinstall ROM and choose wipe data. Make sure you backup your apps with Astro File Manager.
     
  7. Nissan1973

    Nissan1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, download "SpeechSynthesis Data Installer" from the market and that should fix your problem.
     
  8. poooookah78

    poooookah78 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2


    OMG OMG OMG!

    I seriously LOVE this forum... thank you SO MUCH Nissan!!!

    That did it!!!

    THANK YOU!!!!
     
  9. kevin1016

    kevin1016 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why is this needed? Just curious.
     
  10. Nissan1973

    Nissan1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad I could help! :pint:

    Its the data for TextToSpeech, it translates the directions into the voice you hear when navigating. Without them the navigation program dosnt seem to load.
     
  11. kevin1016

    kevin1016 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, I get that it's needed. Sorry, I should have stated the question differently. I guess the question is do these somehow get deleted from the nav app when installing the rom?
     
  12. Nissan1973

    Nissan1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh gotcha.. well I have no clue lol