Sholes 2.0.2 realeased on SMU Updater!! FREE!

Discussion in 'Android Roms' started by thedefectkid, Feb 5, 2010.

?

Did you succesfully root your Droid using this?

  1. Hell Yeah! ROOTED!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. No it was buggy or didn't succesfully install... ;(

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. thedefectkid
    Offline

    thedefectkid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For those of you who haven't rooted your droid enjoy the below I haven't yet Im gunna try now wish me luck!!


    [​IMG]

    Quick desc. of updates:

    - Fixed wipe data problem during install
    - Updated Superuser.apk to newest version (should fix FCs of SMUpdater and black screen on first open)
    - Removed the option to install JIT (was way too buggy and causing way too many problems)
    - Added AudioToggle.apk to fix headphone disconnect switching bug. (credit to trtg)
    - Reverted change from initial 2.0.2 that had a new su binary that caused the phone to reboot

    Instructions for those who don’t have the app already:

    -On your Droid, go to Settings > Applications > Make sure “Unknown Sources” is checked.
    -Open the Browser on your Droid, go to this website: http://downloads.sholes.info/smupdater.apk
    -It will download the APK, when it’s done, tap it and it will ask to install it. (You do not need to wipe data)
    -After it’s done installing, open the app, and follow the instructions to root (if you’re not rooted), update sprecovery, and install the ROM!"



    Credit: Sholes.info
  2. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I didn't have to do anything. The update was sitting there waiting for me. But then I did pay the 5.00 and updated through the market.

    I think if you're new (or old) it's worth 5.00 to keep these guys going.:)
  3. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I've had a few issues with 2.0.1 and 2.0.2 but they seem to be isolated to me. I'm currently running the updater and returning to stock 2.0.1 (no root). If the issues are gone I'm going to try and update to sholes 2.0.2 again.
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,634
    Likes Received:
    1,111
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Sholes .........maybe if BB ever do something like sholes i may look into it. i like pushing a button once and it does the work for me. Its like pilots now for the airlines. The newer the plane the less buttons u gotta push, the less flying you do. You just sit and watch the computer and make sure it does what it is suppose to........I love technology.
  5. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ran the updater back to 2.0.1 stock no root. Didn't fix anything. It's actually worse. Screen is still broken and now I can't run smupdater. It's just grayed out.
  6. Tepes
    Offline

    Tepes New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    2.0.2 is moving beautifully!!! Can't donate until later tonight, but Sholes will be getting a big ole beer when I do! :icon_ banana:
  7. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    So I uninstalled smupdater, reinstalled, rooted and booted back in to stock 2.0.1 rooted. All my issues are gone... Now I'm afraid to run the updater... I don't want the issues to come back.

    While it was rooting it threw an error that it couldn't open the cache partition or something. It then completed successfully.

    Edit, nvm, the issues came back within a couple minutes. Might as well udpate...
  8. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Well.... now I'm stuck in the infinite loop during the install. As soon as I select Keep Data it restarts the install from the beginning. Over and over. Anyone know how to get out of this loop?
  9. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2.0.2 is not coming thru the SholesUpdater that I donated for in the Market. Needless to say I'm pissed... What's the point of this app if I have to do it manually anyway? Grrr....

    Update... kinda weird too. Droid might actually be aware... LOL.
    ..... So after posting this, and sending an E-mail to the developer asking why I couldn't get the 2.0.2 update thru the app... I give up and let my phone sit back on the home screen. Then I get a text notification. I pick up my phone and proceed to open Handcent to answer my text, but as I do, the SholesUpdater pops up, 2.0.2 is listed as an option, and the screen flashes and it begins downloading before I even select it. No way I fat fingered the Sholes icon, since it's in the app drawer.

    So get mad at your Droid... it'll fix itself :)
  10. Shad0w325
    Offline

    Shad0w325 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Same thing that happened to me. I had to manually download it and put it on my SD card. Just put the file on the root of your SD card and run the app, it will do the rest. :)

    Link: http://downloads.sholes.info/finalreleases/sholesmod-2.0.2.rom.tgz
  11. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    At least I wasn't alone... I was just venting. Manually downloading is simple enough and was going to be my option but I didn't want to ever have to do it... which is why I gladly donated for the app :)
  12. Rusher
    Offline

    Rusher New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukraine, Brovary
    ROM installed today through SMUpdater. Everything works very cool. But!! I can not download any applications from Market. Always "Starting Download ..." and that's it. :mad:
  13. R1Lover
    Offline

    R1Lover New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northern Ca
    you have to update the updater in order get the latest versions. :)
  14. thedefectkid
    Offline

    thedefectkid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been officially rooted!!! Worked like a charm
  15. kaiyel1
    Offline

    kaiyel1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago,IL
    Yes I am as well. :mad: Any help?
  16. Rusher
    Offline

    Rusher New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Ukraine, Brovary
  17. mrdroid
    Offline

    mrdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  18. rednukleus
    Offline

    rednukleus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Better pull the multitouch Google Maps from SholesMod, if this is true and there's now pinch zoom by default on Droid. You guys were saying your version might cause issues with other apps that use Maps. It's best to pull the app from your ROM if it is no longer necessary and may cause people some issues. I haven't verified myself yet if the default Droid Map app is indeed multitouch.
  19. Shad0w325
    Offline

    Shad0w325 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Does anyone have SMUpdater 5 they can post? Version 4 isn't working anymore.
  20. CrossBoX
    Offline

    CrossBoX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    everything works great, but the only problem is my phonemypc doesnt work, thats a problem, is there a fix??
Search tags for this page

audiotoggle.apk

,
free download audiotoggle.apk
,
headphones disconnected
,

smu updater