1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Setup Wizard Force Closing

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by KeithR, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. KeithR
    Offline

    KeithR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey all,

    I'm dled the froyo .7 sapphire rom for the droid with the smoked glass theme and the p3 lv kernel. Everything installed sucessfully and the phone rebooted. Once rebooted I was prompted to do the setup wizard thing, however it would not let press anything because it immediately force closed and kept force closing I had to do a hard battery pull and loaded a backup. anybody have ideas?

    Thanks,

    keith
  2. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Hmm...odd error.

    What's the max clock frequency of the kernel you're using?

    Perhaps try a standard voltage kernel?

    If it still doesn't work, try re-downloading, wipe everything, and re-install. You're the first I've heard of experiencing this problem.
  3. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    Had this as well this morning...two things i did to fix this just not sure which one fixed it. I downloaded the file again directly from the links in this section, then I only installed the Rom which allowed me to set the phone up...then flashed the Gapps fix and all is fine.
  4. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    pdroid its not the kernel, i tried 4 different ones but the above is what worked.
  5. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Yes, well, your direct experience + solution will beat my blind speculation every time. ;)
  6. KeithR
    Offline

    KeithR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alright thank you I will try this tonight. I have a feeling it might have something to do with the gapps fix like you said.

    Keith
  7. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    pdroid I thought kernels as well this morning even though I have run 1.25's before on other Rom's, when 4 others failed at the same point I started to realize that's not it. It was the message about the Setup Wizard that got me thinking about the Gapps fix since the phone wasn't boot looping just not allowing you to log in.

    Hope this works for you Keith, I would download the files to your PC though and transfer them to your phone...and make sure to wipe.
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2010
  8. 52brandon
    Offline

    52brandon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just wiping data and cache fixed it for me
  9. KeithR
    Offline

    KeithR New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did what you said and it worked. running fine. thanks.:)
  10. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    Don't confuse pdroid with P3Droid.
  11. jahope22
    Offline

    jahope22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This has happenend to me also can anyone explain to me what fsbiker meant in his message i dont know how to do that
  12. FSRBIKER
    Offline

    FSRBIKER New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Oak Ridge, NJ
    How did you install this Rom? If by Rom Manager try again but do not choose the Gapps fix(Google apps), you should be able to log in then. You can then get the Gapps file from the original post about the Sapphire Rom here and download/install it http://www.sapphire.davekover.com/fi...fix-update.zip
  13. jahope22
    Offline

    jahope22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks fsbiker for the help it works fine now.
  14. jarofclay
    Offline

    jarofclay New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. I had this issue and I just re-wiped data and cache again and it came up fine.
  15. welterbf123
    Offline

    welterbf123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had the same issue but the fix above has not helped. Here's the procedure I'm using:

    Wipe/factory reset x2
    Wipe cache x2
    Install the stock theme Saphire rom that I downloaded from Saphire's website.

    When it finishes and reboots, I get a force close of the setup wizard repeatedly and am forced to reinstall from backup. I've tried the blue glass version with the same result. I have not installed anything else but the ROM so it's using the stock kernal.
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  16. welterbf123
    Offline

    welterbf123 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I'm still having this problem. Has anyone else experienced this? I simply cannot install Sapphire 0.8.4 on my Droid. I've used Clockwork Recovery and SPRecovery with the same result.
  17. sdawg3458
    Offline

    sdawg3458 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can you help me with this problem because I just got it and i honestly need a step by step please help :)

    thanks
Search tags for this page
android setup wizard crash
,

android setup wizard force close

,
android setup wizard keeps crashing
,
cyanogen setup wizard force close
,
cyanogenmod 11 setup wizard loop
,
droid x2 setup wizard forceclose
,
force close wizarddialog from wizardpage
,
how to fix a phone that force closes on startup wizard
,
how to fix android setup wizard
,
how to fix crashed andriod setup wizard
,
htc thunderbolt setup wizard crashes
,
setup wizard android force close
,
setup wizard crashes android
,

setup wizard force close

,
setup wizard force close android