Setting Up email for Droid NEWBIE:)

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by ryhenicee, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. ryhenicee

    ryhenicee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my droid, and love it OBV!

    But for some reason can not get my work email to take to it.

    Our email is through Novell Groupwise. I had it setup on my blackberry storm as a POP3 and would assume it would be same setting even though on different OS. Let me know if you can help and Thanks Ryan
     
  2. ryhenicee

    ryhenicee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    11 views no replies where u techies at?
     
  3. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Welcome!

    What problems are you experiencing? Can you receive but not send?

    I am guessing that you are using the stock email app. The settings for getting that app to connect to you groupwise account should be straight forward. If you can't get it to work download K9 form the market, it is a free app, and add your account info.

    Mike
     
  4. ryhenicee

    ryhenicee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It won't even let me setup my account. Tried through K9 also. I can not access my old setup now either since my blackberry is disconnected. Man this is frustrating, might have to return if my work email will not sync

    I can also get my mail through the web going to

    smpt.rodem.com\gw\webacc

    But that won't even come up through my browser.
     
  5. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    What errors are you receiving?

    If you were able to access this account with your BB Storm there is no reason you can't get it on the Droid. I've never used Groupwise so I'm not familiar with any idiosyncrasy of that particular software. Have you spoken with your IT folks to make sure that they do not need to modify at their end.

    Mike
     
  6. ryhenicee

    ryhenicee New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I must have some info wrong then but I am entering what was in BB and now it says can't connect with server. Is there anything I can look on my laptop email to check for settings? Asking my IT would be like kicking myself in the nutz ....she is worthless.
     
  7. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Try using the slide out keyboard. If you use the screen keyboard backspace everything I've had times when the screen keyboard left spaces at the end and my userid and password were incorrect thus access was denied.

    Mike
     
  8. alm0614

    alm0614 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +5
    if you use outlook, you can go into account settings and copy those settings exactly
     
Search tags for this page

adding groupwise email to htc droid

,

getting groupwise emails on droid

,

how to set up groupwise email on android using k9

,

k9mail groupwise

,

setting up novell email on android