1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

setting up a POP3 account to sync with droid

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by Grinch, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. Grinch
    Offline

    Grinch New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The threads I've searched all seem to assume I already know how to do this step. I have a .net email account that I THINK is a POP3 type account (at least that is the way it is configured on my desktop through Outlook). When I try and set up my Droid to sync this account, I only get the 'setup Exchange account' option. When I complete the account setup this way, the phone is unable to connect to the server. I assume I need to tell the Droid to set up a POP3 account, not an Exchange account, but can't find a way to get this option on the phone. Sorry if this is noobish :)
  2. Grinch
    Offline

    Grinch New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    aha, I think I've found the problem. Quoting from another thread:

    This should be reasonably straight forward. One thing I will caution you with on all this, do not use the following:

    Home -> Menu -> Settings -> Accounts & Sync

    The Default Settings Menu does only allows for Gmail, Exchange and Facebook. What is listed here is for setting up e-mail through the Mail App. Trust me, it took me 4 days to figure out how to do this properly and a lot of the posts seem to neglect mentioning how to do this.


    Hopefully this will work for me, and clarify for anyone else trying to accomplish the same thing.
  3. duke6619
    Offline

    duke6619 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    email>menu>account settings>incoming settings>outgoing settings
    You have to put in the correct settings for both incoming and outgoing. After you type in the settings for each one do next and it will tell you if they are correct or not. If they are correct no message.
  4. 640k
    Offline

    640k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if by .net you mean hotmail or msn mail, you can use POP3 if you enable it through the account level, otherwise you have to use MS's proprietary mapi mail configuration.

    if you're talking about an Exchange email account at work, school, etc., that's considered a corporate email account and has to have push email setup, or html access to your email account through your company's website.

    if you DO mean hotmail/msn, check my sig.
  5. Grinch
    Offline

    Grinch New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's funny, my gmail account works flawlessly, and I can go in and check the settings via this pathway. When I try to configure my other .net email account, I'm not succeeding. I have the settings input as they are on my webmail settings, and have tried many subtle variations, but so far no luck. I may need to talk to my internet service provider and see if there are any little quirks that need to be taken in to account (no pun intended).
  6. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    From context it sounds like a .net (versus, say, .com) domain.
  7. griz8791
    Offline

    griz8791 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my case, it did not default to the correct port for either incoming or outgoing port. I had to go look those up on my desktop Outlook and replace the Droid's suggested ports.
  8. duke6619
    Offline

    duke6619 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had similar problems setting up my Road Runner email. Finally through this forum and a Blackberry forum I was able to figure it out. It took me at least a week. People here are pretty helpful, so hang in there I'm sure somebody will come up with an anwser
  9. Grinch
    Offline

    Grinch New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bingo! I just checked the ports on my desktop, the Droid got the incoming right, but I had to manually reset the outgoing port. All working well now. Thanks a million!

    -Roy
Search tags for this page
android - synchronisation pop
,
android email pop3 sync setting
,
android pop email cannot connect to server
,

android pop3 sync

,

can't connect to server setting up hosted exchange on droid

,

email settings on a droid charge msn account

,

galaxy s3 sync pop calendar

,
how do i sync phone to pop3
,

how to set up .net e mail on galaxy s3

,

how to sync android with pop3

,

isp pop3 email not syncing on droid razr

,
pop3 email not syncing on droid
,
samsung galaxy 3 not syncing my pop3 calendar email
,

set up msn email on android

,

sync droid razr to msn account