1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Setting Profiles App

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by cgull, Dec 11, 2010.

  1. cgull
    Offline

    cgull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is anyone running the Setting Profiles app? I have had it for about a week and am really liking it. The ability to associate profiles and actions based on conditions makes the possibilities endless. I especially like not having to worry about managing profiles for Home, Work and Remote.
  2. Captain Canuck
    Offline

    Captain Canuck New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    I just started using it today. So far it appears to be very intuitive and rock solid.

    My first profile was for the car - detect it is in the car dock, turn wifi off, start Weatherbug Elite and Latitude, enable bluetooth. And then reverse all of that when I remove it form the car dock.

    So far I haven't yet figured out how to turn wifi back on automatically when I undock it- but I'm sure that is just a problem between the chair and the keyboard. :icon_eek:
  3. cgull
    Offline

    cgull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Since I only use wifi at home I added a location with cell towers for my house and set an action to activate home profile. Also have cell tower location/profile for work. I am also using it to trigger Newsrob Syncs at night. When neither work or home are detected it activates my default profile with GPS and bluetooth. Pretty sweet.
  4. Captain Canuck
    Offline

    Captain Canuck New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Unfortunately that won't work for me because I live within walking distance from work. (Yes it really IS nice.) Both locations fall within the same cell tower area. So, my only other alternative was the SSID detect option.

    I really don't want to connect to the home or work WAP - the work one for use of work resource reason and the home one simply because I don't want to add to the load on it (used as a Vonage router, also by a heavy online gamer and for Netflix video steaming.)
  5. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am using it for almost an year now. Maybe the nicest profiles app out there. Before I got it, I pretty much tried all available profiles apps at the time. Setting Profiles was the best out of all. It consumes a fair bit of memory (which was an issue on my old Milestone), be careful setting too many profiles, especially location dependant ones, as it will burn thru your batteries faster. With Droid2/Global memory won't be an issue anymore, but juice-sucking part gets worse :)
  6. pjjameso
    Offline

    pjjameso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I seem to be having a bit of trouble with this app, probably user error. When selecting a new location what is the difference between lat lon identified and cell tower? For me Im having problems getting it to switch automatically between home and work. I have used lat lon for each location description. My GPS is off, is that the issue? I thought that lat long was based upon cell tower relationships.

    Also, if I manually switch to another profile eg work but I am at home shouldnt it switch back to home after the 5 min lat lon update period?

    I only have two profiles created home and work and they only activate simple Rules. Using the lite version. Had purchased the full but returned it because of the location switching issue.

    Thanks, been to the publishers web site but havent found many answers to my questions.
  7. cgull
    Offline

    cgull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Lat needs GPS. I use cell towers not Lat. This works unless your locs are very close. Set the tower threshold to 1.
  8. wnrussell
    Offline

    wnrussell New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Voorhees
    Profiles in 3.8.1

    [​IMG][​IMG]
  9. leobg
    Offline

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Nice idea, but incomplete. You cannot manage sound or anythine esle beside desktop layout with this built-in feature in Blur. No scheduling either. Maybe in next version they will address these points.
Search tags for this page
android 2 profile
,
delete profile pages droid
,
droid 2 profile home
,
droid x2 profiles
,
how to change the profile settings on an motorola droid x2
,
how to clear a profile on droid x2
,
how to delete a location on weatherbug
,

how to delete profiles on android

,
how to delete profiles on android phones
,
how to delete profiles on droid
,

how to delete profiles on droid 2

,
how to remove profiles on android
,
netflix android profiles
,
weatherbug elite bluetooth enabled
,
work and home profiles on my droid x