Setting Dolphin as my default browser

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by scheirere, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. scheirere
    Offline

    scheirere New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys I'm having trouble setting Dolphin as my default browser. I've gone into settings an selected the tab but it doesn't stick. As soon as I back out, the tab is de-selected again. Am I doing something wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. RW-1
    Offline

    RW-1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Hmm, try this:

    Uninstall, power cycle with batt pull, reinstall, set default and retry.
  3. scheirere
    Offline

    scheirere New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I gave it a try and it didn't help. Hmm, RW-1, are you able to set dolphin as your default browser? Did you do anything to disable the stock browser as default?
  4. hughesjr
    Offline

    hughesjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dolphin asked me if I wanted to make it default when I started it, and I checked yes. Now it is default.

    You can also open Dolphin then press Menu -> More -> Settings.

    At the bottom of the page, you have a Set as default browser.

    I did not have to do anything to the Android Browser.
  5. scheirere
    Offline

    scheirere New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm, it never asked me if I wanted it as the default browser. no mater what I do I cant get it to be the default browser. this is really starting to irritate me!! any other suggestions?
  6. mrbort
    Offline

    mrbort New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I noted this happening to me as well. I actually had set Dolphin Browser as the default and had it working without any problems. Then I wanted to do some benchmarking and the installed browser was opening any clicked on page in Dolphin so I unclicked the default browser toggle on Dolphin. After I was done and happy with using Dolphin, I tried to toggle default back on both from the prompt on app start and from the settings menu. It would never remember that toggle.

    I tried the uninstall, power cycle minus battery, reinstall method posted earlier with no success.

    Here was the solution:

    I uninstalled Dolphin (though I think this actually was unnecessary)

    I went to the application settings for Browser (change the filter to all from the menu) and cleared the Launch By Default settings (Clear Defaults). I think this was the key but I also cleared the app data, cache etc for Browser.

    Then I reinstalled Dolphin.

    I'd recommend trying just the middle step to save the hassle of setting up Dolphin again.

    Hope this helps!
Search tags for this page
how do i make dolphin my default browser
,
how to make dolphin default browser android
,
how to make dolphin the default browser on galaxy siii?
,
how to make dolphin your default browser
,

how to set dolphin as default browser

,
how to set dolphin as default browser in android
,
how to set dolphin as my default browser
,
make dolphin browser default
,
make dolphin browser default android
,

make dolphin default browser

,
set dolphin default browser
,
set dolphin default browser android