setting cpu higher than 800

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by stabl4life82, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. stabl4life82

    stabl4life82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    south carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    is there a easy way to make my setCpu app go faster than 800? mine is only going max at 800..thanks guys
     
  2. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
    install a kernel will give you the ability to overclock
     
  3. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    251
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +260
    The kernel is what dictates the speed SetCPU is just an app that allows you to adjust it. You need to install another kernel; what ROM are you running?
     
  4. MrSpeed3

    MrSpeed3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Gate, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the same question. Im currently running 2.2 with easy root. can i still install a kernel even tho im not fully rooted?
     
  5. stabl4life82

    stabl4life82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    south carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have no idea..i know i rooted my phone and i have rom manager on here but the rest idk..i did see the kernals you r talking about but am confused on how to install them into my phone do use it correctly
     
  6. stabl4life82

    stabl4life82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    south carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    can i just install the kernal on the computer through winrar and then transfer all files to my phone? btw i used easy root as well
     
  7. Paul1201

    Paul1201 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Search for the "Overclocking 101" post by SkullOne. It will answer many of your questions and explains all the settings in SetCPU you need to be aware of.
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 Super Moderator
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +31
  9. turdbogls

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    it is actually really easy with ROM manager.

    open up RM, go to download ROM, find Chevyno1, Froyou Kernels, download the ones you want, or all of them.

    go to install ROM from SD card, it will boot into clockworkmod recovery, go to install from SD card (not install update.zip) navigate to clockworkmod folder, and find the kernals, start with the ULV kernal of your choosing, and select it, go to yes and it i will install, then reboot. if it reboots fine, go to set CPU and overclock it to whatever you want it set at.

    if you get stuck on M logo, pull the battery and boot into recovery (hold x and power yada yada yada) and follow the steps above to install .zip from SD and install another kernel. some phones like different kernals than others. i personally havn't had any real problems with ulv 1ghz, mlv 1ghz or the ulv 1.25ghz kernals from chevy on Bugless beast or chevys ROM's.

    if you didn't understand anything i just said...just step back and do not go any further until you feel cumfortable with what i just said.
     
  10. stabl4life82

    stabl4life82 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    south carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    im gonna try it the other way first to see if i can save the 3.99 in case it doesnt work cause i will have to upgrade to rom premium
     
  11. YankInDaSouth

    YankInDaSouth Theme Developer
    Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    251
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Sharpsburg, GA
    Ratings:
    +260
    Just look at Chevy's page here on DF - there is a list of his kernels there for the downloading ...
     
  12. Hero_Sky

    Hero_Sky New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does "wiping data" mean that it will erase phone numbers, contacts, bookmarks, etc?