1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Setting Application Priorities

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by MinionOfEckerd, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. MinionOfEckerd
    Offline

    MinionOfEckerd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I rooted my phone a couple days ago (Running BB .4 with Chevy Low 1.0ghz) and have been playing around with so many things.

    My phone is running great with 1ghz, good battery life except for emulators/games.

    What I'm looking for is an application that can set priorities for applications. For example, if I want my video player to run with full power then I'll make a setting for that. If I want to run my emulator at half power, then I'll set it. If I want a weather app refreshing ever 2 hours but only take a small amount of power then I'll make a setting.

    My aim is to make it so I can run emulators and other programs but not take a lot of power while playing.

    So is there anything that can do what I want?! Thanks! dancedroid
  2. MinionOfEckerd
    Offline

    MinionOfEckerd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing? :icon_eek:
  3. tgpms
    Offline

    tgpms New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you mean Battery Power, then no, there is not an app that will do that (unless you count dimming the screen and even that won't get you close to half power). One thing the Droid can't do is magic. But, if you're talking about CPU power, then the answer is still no. As far as I am aware, there is not an app that will change your CPU "power" when you run other specific apps. You can have profiles set for full and half-speed in SetCPU and change them relatively easily, but that's about as close as you can get to a solution right now. I think.
  4. DanDroidX
    Offline

    DanDroidX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Mexico, The Land of Entrapment
    I think Juicedefender has a function like that, but SetCPU allows you to set it on demand so it only upscales as needed, and you can set profiles for battery percentage, temperature, or screen off. Mighty useful.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  5. tgpms
    Offline

    tgpms New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The biggest issue is that when you're running emulators/movies, you are asking your 550Mhz phone to function as a 1-1.25+Ghz gaming device/tv. That will always kill your battery faster. Maybe try something as simple as turning down brightness? Seidio makes some kind of extended life battery (that sticks out the back of the Droid). Could try that if you plan on doing a lot of gaming with your droid.

    SetCPU does what it does well (and so does BB without SetCPU installed), and I hear good things about Juice Defender. But, if you're on Bugless Beast @ 1Ghz and your battery life seems too short, I don't see an app increasing it as much as you might like.

    I definitely ask my Droid to do A LOT on a daily basis, and the only real solution I've found is to keep it plugged in whenever I can.
  6. MinionOfEckerd
    Offline

    MinionOfEckerd New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My battery life is excellent running 1ghz EXCEPT when I do heavy gaming.

    I guess what I can do is install SetCPU again and only turn the settings on when I want to keep the CPU at a certain max level. When I'm done with SNES I can turn off SetCPU and bring the system back up to 1ghz.

    I love the snappiness with 1ghz so I don't want to give that up (plus I feel like with this rom set up I get so much better battery than I did before).

    I guess I'll try the SetCPU and if that doesn't work then I guess I'll keep looking.

    Thanks for the replies!:icon_ banana:
Search tags for this page
andriod app setting for highest priority
,

android app cpu priority

,
android application cpu priority
,

android cpu priority

,
android give app priority
,
android give high priority app
,

android increase app priority

,
change priority app android
,
give app priority root android
,
how to increase a app priority in android
,
how to increase android application priority
,
increase priority of app android
,
increase the priority of app on android
,

increasing priority for applicaton in android

,
increasing the priority of android's phone application