Setmycpu for Droid X question

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid X' started by AngelRyuxz, Dec 14, 2010.

  1. AngelRyuxz

    AngelRyuxz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I consider my phone fast, but how would setmycpu app do for me? Like can you guys really see a change while running this, or is it just wasting battery life?

    For those who have this, what are your settings/set up for your droid x? Screen shots are welcome but not necessary.

    Sent from my DROIDX 2.2.1, system version 2.3.340 that is rooted using Tapatalk
     
  2. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you want an overclock app, id recommend jrummys 'droid overclock'. It has presets for new users and also allows you to manually set your freqs and voltages for the more experienced user. My setup is custom: undervolt min freq to 22 from 25 but up the freq to 400 from 300. Super snappy and saves batt life. Also have my top freq upped to 1.200 on stock volt (68).
     
  3. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    +1! And Jrummy is awesome too!



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  4. jrummy16

    jrummy16 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    +2 :p
     
  5. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Haha!!



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  6. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just like to say thank you jrummy. I picked up your app when it came out for 99ยข and it is friggin awesome. Saves me from pushing the setscaling file by hand :D

    For op, here's screencap of my settings:
    [​IMG]

    Edit: after posting I upped 500 to 600
    Btw, this setup is super stable for me too, but all dxs aren't created equal. You'll have to find your own settings
     
  7. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +55
    You don't need setCPU with jrummys app, it has sliders built in.
     
  8. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    and setCPU really doesnt do much for the DX bc its not the same way to overclock as the D1 with kernels
     
  9. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    +1 - absolutely true

    I don't even think setcpu even works without installing the custom kernel addon - only has sliders
     
  10. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    where can up get JRummy's app. I dont see it in the market
     
  11. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Do a market search for "overclock" and you'll see it.



    DroidForums junkie!!
     
  12. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    6 came up for overclock,.Is his the one that is "DX/D2 Overclocker by unstable apps for .99$
     
  13. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    No that's not it. Search jrummy16 and you'll find his apps.

    tappin and a talkin
     
  14. wb1960

    wb1960 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    searched his name and only 2 apps show, one droidlife wallpapers and the other is DX/D2 logo changer
     
  15. maderschramm

    maderschramm Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Ratings:
    +0
    confirmed this on my dx as well. seems to be pulled