SetCPU: To use or not to use with 11.26?

Discussion in 'Team D1-MIUI' started by publicanimal, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. publicanimal

    publicanimal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've started to see some posts claiming better performance after uninstalling SetCPU. Since flashing 11.26 I've noticed higher temps and decreased battery life with the kernel I usually use (Chevy's 1.2 GHz ULV) so I've been flashing different kernels to deal with that (right now I'm using Chevy's 1.0 GHz ULV but I'm not sure if I'll settle on it).

    If anyone has run the new build with and without SetCPU, can you comment on the results? Oh, and please spare me the "don't flash different kernels, just use the stock kernel" spiel. I like to tinker and I don't like P3 kernels.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Ozzie

    Ozzie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ratings:
    +1
    It would be a much easier decision for me if I knew what the rom has for controlling the cpu and a way to see what it's doing.
     
  3. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The ROM clocks to the highest slot for the kernel installed, and uses on-demand governor. IMO, Android does the job better than SetCPU ever will, without having an app waste resources doing what the ROM already does.

    Some people swear by profiles, but in reality it's all a placebo effect for them. Android already handles CPU scaling proficiently.
     
  4. Logan3824

    Logan3824 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0


    I agree, after uninstalling setcpu my rom runs so much faster..Back in the day it was better before the devs started implementing the cpu control, but as of now, I just let the phone do what it does best.(being a smart phone ;)
     
  5. publicanimal

    publicanimal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    SetCPU has given me mixed results across different ROMs, and particularly across various builds of Miui. Somewhere around v5 I started to experience lag that I hadn't experienced before (I had felt I hadn't needed SetCPU w/ Miui since v2), and the lag disappeared once I started using SetCPU. I'm not sure it's always a case of placebo effect between using it or not using it.

    I just uninstalled it and I'm going to see how that goes.
     
  6. jamezelle

    jamezelle Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you know setcpu doesnt do any actual handling of the cpu itself right?

    setcpu just echos values to the kernel and then the kernel uses those parameters to scale according to android. its just a tool it doesnt control anything though

    EDIT: also the rom clocks to what the dev sets in the init.rc by default
     
  7. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I know, but SetCPU still uses resources when using profiles, as it has to echo those values every time a profile parameter is triggered.

    And yes, you're right about init.rc, it's just common for the Dev to default it to the highest slot on the included kernel though, right?
     
  8. jamezelle

    jamezelle Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    most devs usually default to 600 or 800 if you set it to the highest, you will be getting some angry posts from some ppl with dead batteries :p
     
  9. Logan3824

    Logan3824 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +0


    Well then if its defaulted at 800 then why would installing a 1200 kernel do anything? I'm saying that cause currently I'm getting low quadrant scores and I've installed a 1200 lfy slayhers...I also came from a clean wipe.
     
  10. jamezelle

    jamezelle Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    because your not using setcpu lol to set it to scale to the higher in your case 1200mhz slot
     
  11. ZeroBarrier

    ZeroBarrier Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Good point.
     
  12. PearlMikeJam

    PearlMikeJam Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What line do I edit to set my kernel speed? I glanced quickly at init.rc, but could not pick out the line. I like to run at 800, and SetCPU causes lag for me on most ROMs.