SetCPU speeds?

Discussion in 'Droid Incredible Hacks' started by t4l3ntz, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. t4l3ntz

    t4l3ntz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I'm playing around with my newly rooted inc and I downloaded setCPU so I could underclock it to save some battery when I turn it off and when the battery gets low. I don't know what to put as the max and min for the profiles I want to make. I searched on Google but found nothing specific for the inc. Can anybody help me?

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  2. enlightened

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    What ROM are you running?
     
  3. t4l3ntz

    t4l3ntz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm switching between the stock Rom and ruby 2.0

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  4. Incredibilly

    Incredibilly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try Hydra kernels. They work great with the stock Rom. The cool part of the overclock kernels is they also under volt when your phone is in sleep mode.
    I had some fc issues with the 1.15Ghz oc kernel. So I switched to the 1.113Ghz oc. I've been running it for a month now and am very happy with performance.

    Plus you get wireless tether with Hydra oc kernels.

    sent from my Incredible Andriod phone using DroidForums App.
     
  5. The_Other_Ray

    The_Other_Ray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just rooted my incredible and I don't want to install custom roms or kernels. Will I still be able to benefit from installing set cpu with the stock kernel? I would like to be able to set profiles and under clock to preserve battery life.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums App
     
  6. keith4321

    keith4321 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sewanee, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yea, I'm with The_Other_Ray on this I don't want a custom rom I like my launcher pro, but I would like to set the profiles so I could conserve battery. Would you still have to have a different kernel and can i still use LP?
     
  7. enlightened

    enlightened DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +4
    You can use Launcher Pro on any ROM- not just stock. There are a few exceptions (ROMs that have a different launcher built in) but they're few and far between.
     
  8. The_Other_Ray

    The_Other_Ray Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    how is the battery life on the Hydra kernel?

    It seems as though the stock kernel for my incredible isn't doing what I want it to be doing (underclocking, saving battery).
     
  9. keith4321

    keith4321 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sewanee, TN
    Ratings:
    +0
    ii have the stock kernel i believe 2.6.32.17. i rooted and installed setcpu i've researched several profiles and i believe i have them set decent, but do i need to go ahead and install a different kernel? if so can i do that with out installing a different rom?
     
  10. NiZmoStormTrooper

    NiZmoStormTrooper New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have pretty much the same question.. can you run setcpu and overclock on a stock rom and kernel?