SetCPU Settings

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by pjjameso, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. pjjameso

    pjjameso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have had the D2G for about two weeks now and I must say the battery life is much worse than my Droid. Droid was overclocked and regulated by SetCPU which worked great.

    Long and short has anyone come up with SetCPU settings/profiles that increase the battery life without compromising response? Is SetCPU even worth installing on the D2G?

    All crapware has been renamed and I have no active widgets.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. dipsetdiplomat

    dipsetdiplomat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I set a profile to set the cpu to 300 while the phone sleeps and I can get about 8 or 10 hours of jus texting and email and about 5 on nothing but constant texting, internet, and games.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  3. pjjameso

    pjjameso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Curious, doesnt the android operating system provide throttle service to slow down the processor when in sleep mode or under low load?
     
  4. Stelv

    Stelv Silver Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,656
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Western NY
    Ratings:
    +8
    I think underclocking and battery life is based on kernel and its governor not os. I use on demand for all my set cpu profiles.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  5. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    There is another app on the Market for overclocking the D2 called Droid Overclock made by the rather remarkable Jrummy. Possibly the only dev I've ever acknowledged. You may want to take a look at that. I chose a low voltage 1.3 gb setting. Easy peasy, compared to SetCPU. And that's pretty easy too.
     
  6. pjjameso

    pjjameso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you found it necessary to set profiles or just let SetCPU do its thing automatically. Not really sure what one accomplishes using different profiles.

    I can see the temp would be handy if you were overclocking and pushing it to the limit.
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    With SetCPU it is absolutely necessary to set up your profiles.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/47871-overclocking-101-a.html

    This is the bible on it.
     
  8. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20,411
    Likes Received:
    2,748
    Trophy Points:
    1,078
    Ratings:
    +2,981
    To be honest I can see underclocking, or backing your d2 to 800 or even 600 to conserve battery. When ever I stream live nfl I will underclock my phone because even with my phone plugged up live streaming kills a battery.
    But to overclock a d2 is not needed or worth it. You may get an extra 200 or maybe 300 mhz and that is not worth the extra heat or really do anything where you can see its value. I played with o/c for a moment when the method was first released then I went back to the way it was. The droid 1 is worth o/c because you can double speed.
     
  9. swagmonster

    swagmonster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    worcester,MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I have a d2 and I oc too 4.2 does are u telling me ytht I'm not actually getting tht speed

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  10. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well you're def not getting to 4.2 maybe 1.42 lol

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  11. swagmonster

    swagmonster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    worcester,MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol I ment 1.4

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  12. dipsetdiplomat

    dipsetdiplomat Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is the droid 2 global I dnt even think there are overclocking kernels for it yet

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
     
  13. pjjameso

    pjjameso Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are so right regarding streaming music via 3G.... I listen to radioparadise at work using the multimedia dock plugged into the outlet and the battery is down to 20% at the end of the day! Weird thing is that i did the same thing on my DROID and the battery was fully charged at the end of the day. Was thinking maybe the power supply wasnt pushing enough amps but checked and its rated at 800ma, same as the wall wart that came with D2G.
     
Search tags for this page
best voltage setting for d2g
,

droid 2 global setcpu

,
is setcpu worth it