1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

SetCPU Settings

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Global' started by pjjameso, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. pjjameso
    Offline

    pjjameso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have had the D2G for about two weeks now and I must say the battery life is much worse than my Droid. Droid was overclocked and regulated by SetCPU which worked great.

    Long and short has anyone come up with SetCPU settings/profiles that increase the battery life without compromising response? Is SetCPU even worth installing on the D2G?

    All crapware has been renamed and I have no active widgets.

    Thoughts?
  2. dipsetdiplomat
    Offline

    dipsetdiplomat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I set a profile to set the cpu to 300 while the phone sleeps and I can get about 8 or 10 hours of jus texting and email and about 5 on nothing but constant texting, internet, and games.

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  3. pjjameso
    Offline

    pjjameso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Curious, doesnt the android operating system provide throttle service to slow down the processor when in sleep mode or under low load?
  4. Stelv
    Offline

    Stelv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Western NY
    I think underclocking and battery life is based on kernel and its governor not os. I use on demand for all my set cpu profiles.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
  5. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    There is another app on the Market for overclocking the D2 called Droid Overclock made by the rather remarkable Jrummy. Possibly the only dev I've ever acknowledged. You may want to take a look at that. I chose a low voltage 1.3 gb setting. Easy peasy, compared to SetCPU. And that's pretty easy too.
  6. pjjameso
    Offline

    pjjameso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you found it necessary to set profiles or just let SetCPU do its thing automatically. Not really sure what one accomplishes using different profiles.

    I can see the temp would be handy if you were overclocking and pushing it to the limit.
  7. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    With SetCPU it is absolutely necessary to set up your profiles.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/47871-overclocking-101-a.html

    This is the bible on it.
  8. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    16,944
    Likes Received:
    826
    Trophy Points:
    113
    To be honest I can see underclocking, or backing your d2 to 800 or even 600 to conserve battery. When ever I stream live nfl I will underclock my phone because even with my phone plugged up live streaming kills a battery.
    But to overclock a d2 is not needed or worth it. You may get an extra 200 or maybe 300 mhz and that is not worth the extra heat or really do anything where you can see its value. I played with o/c for a moment when the method was first released then I went back to the way it was. The droid 1 is worth o/c because you can double speed.
  9. swagmonster
    Offline

    swagmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    worcester,MA
    Ok so I have a d2 and I oc too 4.2 does are u telling me ytht I'm not actually getting tht speed

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  10. spaz33g
    Offline

    spaz33g Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Well you're def not getting to 4.2 maybe 1.42 lol

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  11. swagmonster
    Offline

    swagmonster New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    worcester,MA
    Lol I ment 1.4

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
  12. dipsetdiplomat
    Offline

    dipsetdiplomat New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is the droid 2 global I dnt even think there are overclocking kernels for it yet

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL using DroidForums App
  13. pjjameso
    Offline

    pjjameso New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are so right regarding streaming music via 3G.... I listen to radioparadise at work using the multimedia dock plugged into the outlet and the battery is down to 20% at the end of the day! Weird thing is that i did the same thing on my DROID and the battery was fully charged at the end of the day. Was thinking maybe the power supply wasnt pushing enough amps but checked and its rated at 800ma, same as the wall wart that came with D2G.
Search tags for this page
best voltage setting for d2g
,

droid 2 global setcpu