setcpu question

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by EvilWays, Feb 8, 2010.

1. EvilWays

EvilWays Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Stock runs a thirty degs. What's safe? I can only imagine at 950 owning a really pretty space heater, at 800 I'm geting close to 40degs. So what's "safe". I understand the inherent dangers of overclocking, burn there's always a safe margin for theses things. What is it for the Droid?

2. natediddy1120

natediddy1120 Silver Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Therre is a thread somewhere on this topic, but if I remember correctly, I think the HIGH temp for a Droid would be around 140 degrees??? I'm not good with Celsius so convert that.....but I think thats the temp. someone correct me if I'm wrong

3. Backnblack

Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Running at 1Ghz.... have not seen anything above 103F.

4. natediddy1120

natediddy1120 Silver Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Thats about like me......I've been running 1 and 1.1GHz and the highest I've seen mine get was 104F

5. SwordOfWar

SwordOfWar Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Consider situations like when you use tethering for a long time or when having the phone docked in your car with the sun beating on it while the battery is charging with the GPS running.

I wouldn't recommend anything higher than 800MHz. Some users reported more restarts and force close issues at 1GHz.

The thing you have to consider is a phone is not always in an air-conditioned room like your overclocked desktop PC probably is. So, you have to think about the possible temperatures it might reach based on the type of environments the phone could be in.

And from what I understand, that temperature reading is based on the battery temperature rather than the CPU temperature, according to the guy who develops SetCPU.

800MHz runs great. Don't get too greedy and shorten the life of your phone (or possibly fry it one day).