1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Setcpu question

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by droidgizz, May 3, 2011.

  1. droidgizz
    Offline

    droidgizz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does setcpu actually overclock your Droid? Or does it just scan and give you recommended settings to use in actual overclock app?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  2. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    It scans your device for the overclock settings and adjusts accordingly. So no, it doesn't actually overclock your device, just adjust the overclock values that are already set within the kernel.
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2011
  3. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Well, it's harder to work with then Jrummy's, which does the same thing. I guess I'm having trouble understanding the question. You set up your profiles just like with Jrummys but both of them overclock.
  4. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,545
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    I don't understand this. If your run at 1ghz and you overclock it for 1.25 ghz and it's running at that speed, that's not overclocking? :confused:
  5. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I think he's asking if you can set your overclock coordinates within the app like you can with jrummys droid overclock. But with setcpu you can't. With setcpu you can adjust the clock speed and set profiles as well as change various clock settings such as up threshold.
  6. Oxymoron
    Offline

    Oxymoron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The kernel is what overclocks. It has preset frequencies in each slot. SetCPU just allows you to adjust the scaling, min/max, and event based profiles ie "screen off". No need to run full throttle all the time. The app allows you to control the frequency, and this is dependent upon how many slots your kernel has.

    *customized tapatalk signature*
  7. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I was having a difficult time wording it haha. Hopefully my second post was a little more clear cut :).
    I'm assuming since he posted in the Droid X section then he won't need to worry about changing the kernel...just overclocking the motorola one...which is done best in the Droid Overclock app or Quickclock Advanced app.
    Last edited: May 3, 2011
  8. prime
    Online

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    They were referring to loading/manipulating the milestone overclock module with SetCPU.

    SetCPU can manipulate the frequencies available to your kernel alone, it can not be used to increase the frequency/vsel (voltage) values like the application from jrummy that uses the milestone overclock module.
  9. Oxymoron
    Offline

    Oxymoron New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was just explaining what SetCPU does. Guess I didn't understand the question. Oh well, have fun! :)

    *customized tapatalk signature*
  10. prime
    Online

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    The question was a little vague.