SetCPU or custom kernel....

Discussion in 'Android Hacks and Help' started by ecsnead69, May 17, 2010.

  1. ecsnead69

    ecsnead69 Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +1
    Which one do I need to install first? I am going to try to add a OC'able kernel to my stock2.1root (Pete). Do I need to install one before the other or does it matter? Thanks
     
  2. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    doesn't matter as far as I know... setcpu doesn't do anything or try and even read your kernel until you open it up for the first time
     
  3. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    yep doesnt matter which order - just make sure when you open setCPU you allow root access and select auto detect
     
  4. J. Dub

    J. Dub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    In yo intanetz!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to bump an old thread but can I get a kernel and run it without set cpu? Do I have to have setcpu? or will the operating system know what to do with the kernel automatically at all times?
     
  5. J. Dub

    J. Dub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    In yo intanetz!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Still need help on this.
     
  6. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    u need setcpu to set the speed you want it to run at
     
  7. J. Dub

    J. Dub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    In yo intanetz!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^Sheet! I presume that the OS won't know what to do thus crash?
     
  8. tcrews

    tcrews Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,353
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Lexington, SC
    Ratings:
    +22
    Kernals set the speeds available to the CPU and SetCPU lets you choose which speed(s) you want.

    Some kernals default to a certain speed if SetCPU isn't configured and some will set to the slowest speed if SetCpu isn't running.

    You don't have to buy SetCPU but it's nice to support the developers since it's so cheap anyway. If you want it free just register over at xda-developers and you can get it from the developer for free.
     
  9. Abe21599

    Abe21599 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +30
    where most kernels are set to the stock 550. some are at 800 but if you want any high speeds u need setcpu - dude its what 2 bucks? come on support some of the devs
     
  10. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    The Android OS has several safety features built in to avoid that condition. The first thing it does upon booting is write the base line files that the OS uses for clocking. SetCPU then can load, if you tell it, and it will then overwrite those files with the new settings you select. Should you put in an illegal value the OS will ignore it and default back to the last good setting that was used.

    So yes, you need SetCPU. No you won't crash.

    And I highly recommend you read this: http://www.droidforums.net/forum/hacking-faqs/47871-overclocking-101-a.html
     
  11. J. Dub

    J. Dub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    In yo intanetz!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Skull that link is exactly what I needed. Thank you.
     
  12. J. Dub

    J. Dub Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    In yo intanetz!!!
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry, the thing is I don't want to use setcpu. I'd like to use a kernel that works in a way that the stock kernel does. For example when my phone sleeps it saves battery but when awaken it increases kernel speed. I was in hopes that this is how kernels work. But it seems I'm wrong and thus need setcpu in order to save more battery and increase performance.
    I'll wait to see more of Skulls results in the coming future.
     
  13. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    You may not want SetCPU, but I can give you a very good reason why you need SetCPU at present.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/bugless/47575-setcpu-vs-petes-v1-1-cpu-script-7.html#post512512

    That post in a nutshell is all about poorly written code, by the very makers of the Android OS, being able to overheat your phone to the point of shutting it down. And there is only one program at present that can prevent that in real time. SetCPU.
     
  14. gotta have that funk

    gotta have that funk Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. Skull One

    Skull One Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Actually he isn't being ridiculous. He is asking for the same exact thing I am. Which is why I have 40+ hours of research on the subject. The issue right now is the Android OS itself. It has defaults with minimal protection built in. It is simply that way because they didn't expect people to overclock their phone to twice their rated speed.

    If it wasn't for the fact that there is very poorly written code out there for the Android OS, this would all be moot. But when the makers of the OS put out some of that poorly written code, then we have to ask questions and seek the answers ourselves. Because I don't expect them to fix it just because we are pushing the limits.
     
Search tags for this page

do ypu need a custom kernal with setcpu

,
does setcpu work with stock kernel
,
for using set cpu we have to use custom kernal or what
,
installing setcpu on motorola triumph
,

overclocking the motorola triumph with setcpu

,
setcpu speed needs kernel
,
setcpu stock kernel